Pride of the Plains Marching Band includes 92 members; Season opens Aug. 30

Pride of the Plains Marching BandKEARNEY – The University of Nebraska at Kearney Pride of the Plains Marching Band has announced its season schedule, which begins with UNK’s Aug. 30 football game against Missouri Southern State.

In addition to performing at all Loper home football games, Pride of the Plains performs in the annual UNK Band Day Parade and Bearcat Marching Festival Sept. 22. The parade begins at 10 a.m.

Other scheduled performances include the Sept. 15 homecoming parade and Oct. 20 at the Nebraska State Bandmasters Association State Marching Contest, hosted at Kearney High School.

Show themes for the 2018 season include music from “Doctor Who,” “Cirque du Soleil” and “Harry Potter.”

The band is under the direction of Brian Alber. The drumline instructor and director of bands is Duane Bierman, and the color guard coordinator is Adrienne Rall. Drum majors are Bethany Freeling of Grand Island and Miranda Niemeier of Omaha.

Pride of the Plains Schedule
Aug. 30, 7 p.m. – Loper Football vs Missouri Southern State (Foster Field)
Sept. 15, 10 a.m. – UNK Homecoming Parade (Downtown Kearney)
Sept. 15, 2 p.m. – Loper Football vs Emporia State, Alumni Band Day (Foster Field)
Sept. 22, 10 a.m. – Band Day Parade
Sept. 22, 1 p.m. – Exhibition, Bearcat Marching Festival (Kearney High School)
Oct. 6, 2 p.m. – Loper Football vs Lindenwood (Foster Field)
Oct. 20, 2 p.m. – Loper Football vs Fort Hays State (Foster Field)
Oct. 20, TBD – Exhibition, Nebraska State Bandmasters Association contest (Kearney High School)
Nov. 3, 2 p.m. – Loper Football vs Missouri Western (Foster Field)

Pride of the Plains Marching Band

Pride of the Plains Members

Albion – Jacob Nore

Albion – Hailey Schademann

Alda – Dakota Brodigan

Alliance – Andrew Stich

Amherst – Steven Boldt

Arapahoe – Michael French

Bassett – Aaron Sybrant

Beatrice – Kaylin Hagemeier

Blair – Grace Lueders

Blair – Bryson Pavlik

Broken Bow – Sam Hundstad

Central City – Bailey Manhart

Chadron – Zachary Carattini

Columbus – Caitlin Becker

Columbus – Mia Grant

Columbus – Travis Woodcock

Cordova – Brittney Newsome

Cozad – Omar Carlos

Crete – Zach Asch

Crete – Trey Marquardt

Crete – Alexis Powell

Gibbon – Morgan Wadkins-Meyer

Grand Island – Julie Bruns

Grand Island – KC Carillo

Grand Island – Bethany Freeling

Grand Island – Reiley Hillman

Grand Island – Emily Laub

Grand Island – Brooke Lee

Grand Island – Chris Pennell

Grand Island – Cosme Price

Greenwood – Kate Book

Gretna – Nathan Haberer

Gretna – Trey Switzer

Hastings – Ruben Gama

Hastings – Ashley Hein

Hastings – Rachel Witt

Herman – Luci Anderson

Hickman – Sydni Ziemke

Holdrege – Cierra Swearingen

Kearney – Lilly Cavill

Kearney – Kevin Downs

Kearney – Tiffany Gawrych

Kearney – Patricia Schmidt

Kearney – Mia Sorgenfrei

Kearney – Jacob Temme

Kearney – Kali Wubben

Lexington – Jonathan Madison

Lincoln – De’Angelo Aden

Lincoln – Dylan Gress

Lincoln – Emily Lillich

Lincoln – Josie Minor

Lincoln – Madison Sanders

Lincoln – Anna Vosicky

Marquette – Lydia Langemeier

Minden – Sydney Wilson

Mitchell – Gabe Reynoso

Norfolk – Isabelle Kaup

Norfolk – Abbey Nemec

North Platte – Alleigh Beckman

North Platte – Megan Capal

North Platte – Kaeli Daley

North Platte – Courtney Harwager

North Platte – Steven Koehn

North Platte – Jakob Ochsner

North Platte – Zach Ochsner

North Platte – Phebe Pavelka

North Platte – Allissa Reinhard

North Platte – Greg Stoner

Odell – Zach Reiman

Ogallala – DeVere Larington

Ogallala – Chris Schmidt

Omaha – Lindsey Brickey

Omaha – Taylor Hamilton

Omaha – Erica Little

Omaha – Morgan Mumm

Omaha – Miranda Niemeier

Omaha – Anna Overbeck

Omaha – Hannah Petersen

Omaha – Rebekah Petersen

Omaha – Morgan Wheatley

Osceola – Christian Schlief

Osceola – Mary Kate Steele

Papillion – Christian Kush

Papillion – Ellie Morrison

Seward – Nickolas Shearer

Sutherland – Kelsey Folchert

Syracuse – Emily Wellsandt

Brighton, Colorado – Zac Dibbern

Parker, Colorado – Hayden Baldwin

Clarinda, Iowa – Ashley Nordhues

Red Oak, Iowa – Jared Sherman

Bogotá, Colombia – Carlos Vargas Castano

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *