Mortar Board adds 26 new members at UNK

MortarBoardLogoKEARNEY – The Xi Phi chapter of Mortar Board at the University of Nebraska Kearney has selected 26 new members. They will be initiated at 5 p.m. April 8 in a ceremony at Museum of Nebraska Art in Kearney.

Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for their achievements in scholarship, leadership and service. New members will be involved in the chapter during the 2016-17 school year.

The Xi Phi Chapter of Mortar Board was chartered at UNK in 1988 and is one of 230 chapters nationwide. Nearly 500 individuals have been selected as collegiate and honorary members of the UNK chapter.

UNK’s chapter has a long history of excellence. It has received the Ruth Weimer Mount Chapter Excellence Award, which recognizes the top Mortar Board chapter in the country. UNK also has been given the prestigious Golden Torch Award numerous times, as well as many Project Excellence awards.

New Mortar Board members, listed by hometown, include:
Anselmo – Gregory Christen
Aurora – Elizabeth Morris
Central City – Kristen Benner
Clay Center – Amanda Slater
Columbus – Megan Humlicek, Benjamin Wagner
Crete – Nathan Harms
Fremont – Trevor Wiegert
Geneva – Marissa Nutter
Grand Island – Miguel Baeza Aguilera
Hartington – Siera Becker, Rachel Flaugh
Hastings – Emma Keele, Mitch Long
Holdrege – Megan Kreutzer
Kearney – Rachel Feddersen, Caitlyn Graf
Kennard – Sydney Miller
Lincoln – Evan Augustyn, Nolan Pribnow
Minden – Nathan Hunzeker
North Platte – Bailey Lehmkuhler
Omaha – Veronica Bunach, Anna Wagemann
Seward – Morgan Prochnow
Haymarket, Virginia – Paige Kordonowy