New Music Festival Monday, April 14, And Tuesday, April 15, At UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall

Dr. Darleen Mitchell
UNK Department of Music and Performing Arts, 308.865.8632

UNK- The University of Nebraska at Kearney Department of Music and Performing Arts will host the annual New Music Festival on Monday, April 14, and Tuesday, April 15, at the Fine Arts Recital Hall.

UNK faculty and students, and guest faculty from Hastings College will perform new works from composers from around the country.

Participating composers include: Michael Walworth of Nebraska, Rusty Banks and Douglas Ovens of Pennsylvania, Kevin Clark of Maryland, Don Bowyer and Doug Bristol of Alabama, Delvyn Case of Massachusetts, Warren Gooch of Missouri, Andrew Houchins of Kansas, Jorge Variego of Florida, Mark Vinci of New York, Deanna Walker of Tennessee and Takayuki Muto of Tokyo, Japan.

Participating UNK faculty include: Dr. Valerie Cisler, Dr. Anne Foradori, Dr. David and Franziska Nabb, Drs. Robert and Darleen Mitchell, and Dr. Andrew White. Dr. Debra McKim and Ruth Moore from Hastings College will serve as guest performers.

The festival will consist of three concerts: a 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. performance on Monday and a 5:30 p.m. performance on Tuesday. All concerts are free and open to the public.

The participating student performers are listed below alphabetically by hometown, state and country:


Blair- Chiyo Kamada

Columbus- Alex Ritter

Franklin- Sarah Cole

Grand Island- McKenzie Cochran

Grand Island- Patrick York

Grand Island- Phillip Zuehlke

Kearney- Katie Langenfeld

Kearney- Paul Niedbalski

Omaha- Jon Flanagan

Omaha- Matthew Morse



Arcata- Michael Walworth



Corbin- Amy Walworth



Ayako Ishida