UNK Chancellor’s Leadership Class Hosts Leadership Forum Tuesday, Feb. 26

Brandon Benitz
assistant to the dean of Student Life, 308.865.1619

Kearney area leaders will share their experiences and insights in a discussion-style roundtable forum on Tuesday, Feb. 26, with University of Nebraska at Kearney students who are members of the 2008 UNK Chancellor’s Leadership Class.
       During this discussion-style roundtable forum, community leaders will offer their definitions of leadership, provide examples of how to accomplish that definition, and then discuss ways students can grow as leaders, according to Brandon Benitz, assistant to the dean of Student Life and leadership class instructor.
       “Students will come with a set of questions for the panel members to probe them about the thoughts, concepts and insights that they have to share,” Benitz said. The forum begins at 9:30 a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 26, in Room 310 of the Nebraskan Student Union.
       Area leaders who will participate include: UNK Chancellor Doug Kristensen; Sherry Morrow, Buffalo County Board of Supervisors; Stan Clouse, Kearney mayor; Amber Brown, assistant Kearney city manager; Roger Jasnoch, president of the Kearney Visitor’s Bureau; and Amber Lewis, UNK student body president/regent.
       Benitz said: “The Chancellor’s Leadership Class is a unique opportunity for select members of the UNK freshman class to participate in a dynamic, and intense, leadership program by enrolling in a senior-level leadership class in the fall, then continue that class in the spring semester.
       “Many colleges and universities nationwide that develop such a leadership course allow only juniors and seniors to enroll,” he said. “At UNK, we take the top 25 students each year and put them through a senior-level course. This benefits both the student and the university, because the relationship between the two continues to grow over years that follow.”
       UNK Chancellor’s Leadership Class members who will take part in the forum are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Aurora –
Amanda Simmons
Dawson –
Ben Clancy
Falls City –
Emmalena Kelly
Gering –
Benn Dixon
Lincoln –
Sam Clayton
North Platte –
Jon Sandau
Orchard –
Eliot Wondercheck

West Palm Beach – Lacey Thornsburry


Herndon – Kendra Solko                                

South Dakota

Pierre – Nate White