UNK Wind Ensemble touring central, southeast Nebraska this week

KEARNEY – The University of Nebraska at Kearney Wind Ensemble will present concerts in five central and southeast Nebraska towns Thursday and Friday.

The Wind Ensemble, directed by Duane Bierman, opens the two-day tour with a concert at UNK’s Fine Arts Recital Hall at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday.

The band’s Thursday performances include an 8 a.m. show at Hastings High School, 1:15 p.m. performance at Shickley High School and 7 p.m. concert at Auburn High School.

Friday’s performances include an 8 a.m. show at Falls City High School and 1:30 p.m. concert at McCool Junction High School.

While touring, UNK students will visit the Hastings Museum and stay overnight at the Lied Lodge and Conference Center in Nebraska City.

The Wind Ensemble is a 40-member auditioned concert band of all UNK undergraduate students. The band regularly performs on campus and across the region every year.

Members of the wind ensemble include:

Blair – Grace Lueders, trumpet; Samuel Rosenau, percussion
Central City – Bailey Manhart, alto saxophone
Columbus – Elijah Mackie, trumpet; Mia Grant, percussion
Crete – Allison Singh, trumpet
David City – Bethany Tebbe, horn
Grand Island – Aaron Borer, clarinet; Alex Gewecke, trombone
Elwood – Chris Rogers, horn
Hastings – Rachel Witt, clarinet
Holdrege – Hannah Hofaker, trombone
Gresham – Alisha Vavra, flute
Gretna – Trey Switzer, trombone
Kearney – Mychaela Fegter, clarinet; Jacob Temme, trombone
Lexington – Jonathan Madison, clarinet
Minden – Sydney Wilson, flute/piccolo
Mitchell – Gabriel Reynoso, percussion
Norfolk – Abigail Nemec, clarinet
North Platte – Taylor Blagdon, flute/piccolo; Jakob Gutschenritter, bassoon; Jacob Cahill, alto saxophone; Devin Wolcott, tenor saxophone; Greggory Stoner, trumpet; Steven Koehn, percussion
Ogallala – Devere Larington, trumpet
Omaha – Anna Overbeck, bass clarinet, Miranda Niemeier, alto/soprano saxophone
Winside – Connor Lemke-Elznic, percussion

Out of State
Brighton, Colorado – Zac Dibbern, baritone saxophone
Parker, Colorado – Hayden Baldwin, flute
Pella, Iowa – Erin Van Hal, flute/piccolo
Red Oak, Iowa – Jared Sherman, euphonium