UNK Pride of the Plains Marching Band opens season Sept. 12; Homecoming parade is Oct. 5

KEARNEY – The University of Nebraska at Kearney Pride of the Plains Marching Band has announced its season schedule, which begins with UNK’s Sept. 12 football game against Central Oklahoma.

In addition to performing at all Loper home football games, the 83-member band performs in the annual UNK Band Day Parade and Bearcat Marching Festival Sept 21. The parade begins at 10 a.m.

Other scheduled performances include the Oct. 5 Homecoming Parade and Oct. 26 at the Nebraska State Bandmasters Association State Marching Contest, hosted at Kearney High School.

Show themes for the 2019 season include music from Disney and superhero movies.

The band is under the direction of Brian Alber. The drum line instructor and director of bands is Duane Bierman, and the color guard coordinator is Adrienne Rall. Drum majors are Miranda Niemeier of Omaha and Sydney Wilson of Minden.

Pride of the Plains Schedule
Sept. 12, 7 p.m. – Loper Football vs Central Oklahoma (Foster Field)
Sept. 21, 10 a.m. – Band Day Parade
Sept. 21, 1 p.m. – Exhibition, Bearcat Marching Festival (Kearney High School)
Sept. 28, 7 p.m. – Loper Football vs Pittsburg State, Alumni Band Day (Foster Field)
Oct. 5, 10 a.m. – UNK Homecoming Parade (Downtown Kearney)
Oct. 5, 2 p.m. – Loper Football vs Northeastern State, (Foster Field)
Oct. 19, 2 p.m. – Loper Football vs Northwest Missouri State (Foster Field)
Oct. 26, TBD – Exhibition, Nebraska State Bandmasters Association contest (Kearney High School)
Nov. 2, 12 p.m. – Loper Football vs Central Missouri (Foster Field)
Nov. 16, 12 p.m. – Loper Football vs Washburn (Foster Field)

2019 Pride of the Plains members

Alliance Keaton Cottrell
Alliance Andrew Stich
Amherst Steve Boldt
Ashland Kate Book
Bassett Aaron Sybrant
Beatrice Kaylin Hagemeier
Broken Bow Sam Hundstad
Central City Bailey Manhart
Columbus Caitlin Becker
Columbus Mia Grant
Columbus Elijah Mackie
Columbus Isaac McPhillips
Columbus Vivi Velazquez
Columbus Travis Woodcock
Crete Alexis Powell
Culbertson Kassi Cooper
Gering Isaiah Henderson
Gibbon Morgan Wadkins-Meyer
Grand Island KC Carillo
Grand Island Oscar Erives
Grand Island Emily Laub
Grand Island Brooke Lee
Grand Island Taylor Mues
Grand Island Cosme Price
Grand Island Aryanna Warner
Gresham Alisha Vavra
Hartington Sadie Uhing
Hastings Ashley Hein
Hastings Rachel Witt
Holdrege Hannah Hofaker
Kearney Megan Ashman
Kearney Taylor Berumen
Kearney Ashleigh Doremus
Kearney Mychaela Fegter
Kearney Patricia Schmidt
Kearney Jacob Temme
Kearney Kayla Wolfe
Lawrence Brandi Mazour
Lexington Jonathan Madison
Lexington Evan Neben
Lexington Chris Rogers
Lexington Jennifer Sanchez
Lincoln Andrew Bond
Lincoln Dylan Gress
Lincoln Emma McDermott
Lincoln Josie Minor
Lincoln Madison Sanders
Minden Sydney Wilson
Norfolk Isabelle Kaup
Norfolk Abbey Nemec
Norfolk Kelsi Woodard
North Platte Alleigh Beckman
North Platte Cassie Brown
North Platte Zach Carter
North Platte Kelsey Folchert
North Platte Steven Koehn
North Platte Zac Ochsner
North Platte Phebe Pavelka
North Platte AJ Reinhard
North Platte Greg Stoner
North Platte Devin Wolcott
Ogallala DeVere Larington
Omaha Erica Little
Omaha Miranda Niemeier
Omaha Anna Overbeck
Ord Kora Severance
Osceola Christian Schlief
Osceola Mary Kate Steele
Papillion Caleb McClung
Papillion Ellie Morrison
Rising City Connor Morrison
Scottsbluff Harley Herman
Shelton Matt Puhalla
Seward Nickolas Shearer
Syracuse Emily Wellsandt
Wallace Hannah Sullivan
Winside Connor Lemke-Elznic
York Camden Wallingford
Brighton, CO Zac Dibbern
Garden City, KS Fernanda Chacon-Arzaga
Garden City, KS Johnathon Mata
Parker, CO Hayden Baldwin
Red Oak, IA Jared Sherman