Fifty UNK students named resident assistants for 2019-20

KEARNEY – The University of Nebraska at Kearney has selected 50 students to serve as resident assistants for the 2019-20 academic year.

Residence hall assistants serve as resources to all students within residence halls.

At UNK, resident assistants are trained in areas of community development, tactical communications and operations, leadership development and emergency response. They also are taught to deal with situations such as noise or alcohol violations, roommate conflicts, fire and weather drills, sexual assaults, mental health concerns and even active shooters.

They plan and implement social and educational programs, promote campus events, encourage residents to get involved with student organizations and ensure the transition to college is a smooth one. They typically work about 20 hours per week, supervising a floor with 20-45 residents.

RAs were selected at the end of the spring 2019 semester through an online application process that included two letters of reference and an interview process with the Office of Residence Life. They receive a room and board stipend and waiver for certain fees for their work.

The 2019-20 UNK RAs are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Nebraska students listed first, followed by out-of-state and international students.


Residence Hall Coordinators
Otoe – Carlina Grove
Seward – Abbi Hanson
Circle Pines, Minnesota – Cory Moen
England – Luke Else

Assistant Hall Directors
Gothenburg – Kate DeBord
Lexington – Anfernee Covarrubuias
Grand Island – Alex Pinell

Resident Assistants
Arcadia – Ashley Einspahr
Blair – Grace Lueders
Blue Springs – Emily Meints
Bridgeport – Trey Janicek
Central City – Emily Beaver
Chadron – Zachary Carattini
Columbus – Dawson Jurado
Doniphan – Kaleb Pfeifer
Elgin – Jaime Hoefer
Exeter – Samantha Horne
Fairbury – Macy Ohlde
Giltner – Alex Goracke
Grand Island – Alyssa Wells
Grant – Karen Ruiz
Harvard – Carleigh Novak
Hastings – Joseph Keele
Hastings – Sara Ripp
Holdrege – Sara Barnes
Holdrege – Bryce Gosselin
Juniata – Javan Clement
Kearney – Jessie Daake
Kenesaw – Chance McKimmey
Lexington – Paola Pinedo
Lexington – Cole Zima
Lexington – Luis De La Torre
Lexington – Jonathan Madison
Lincoln – Kyra Beuning
Milford – Jacob Roth
Norfolk – Hannah Carhart
O’Neill – Makenzie Petersen
Ogallala – Guadalupe Perez
Omaha – Breanna Hemphill
Omaha – Morgan Daubert
Omaha – Trevor Daubert
Omaha – Latjor Wal
Papillion – Mallory Hays
Papillion – Mitch Robey
Paxton – Taylor Mullen-Beck
Platte Center – Jordan Loseke
Schuyler – Auston Hall
Schuyler – Olivia Rath
Scottsbluff – Brandon Ramos
Spalding – Valeria Lozano
St. Edward – Tara Buettner
York – Holly Rockenbach

Hays, Kansas – Emma Raders
Indianapolis, Indiana – Elizabeth Radney
Centennial, Colorado – Katherine Goodall
Colorado Springs, Colorado – Logan Prater
Denver, Colorado – Brandon Williams