Students in Mass Media welcomes nine new members

KEARNEY – Nine new members were inducted into Students In Mass Media (SIMM) at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.
SIMM is the journalism honorary at UNK. In order to be nominated, students must have a sophomore or above class standing, maintain a 3.2 overall grade point average, be working toward a major or minor in a mass communication field and be a full-time student.
The goals of SIMM are to provide its members with experiences they may encounter in their future careers, build their resumes and meet with career professionals in their area of interest to learn more about the career they are pursuing. SIMM also provides the community and campus with service and opportunities not available without the sponsorship of the organization.

New members are:
Alison Buchli, Fairbury
Erin Cuddy, Lincoln
Austin Koeller, Grand Island
Kara Mercure, Valentine
Jessica Nichols, North Platte
Rachel Slowik, Papillion
Alyssa Sobotka, O’Neill
Rachel Stauffer, Shenandoah, Iowa
Kelsey Unick, Litchfield

SIMM meetings take place on the first and third Wednesdays of each month in the Mitchell Center.
Current officers are Marie Bauer, President, Norfolk; Nicole Thompson and Jessica Nichols, co-Vice Presidents Centennial, Colo., and North Platte respectively; Laura Wardyn, Treasurer, Kearney; Keysha Foulk, Secretary, Giltner; and Miranda Walford, Web Coordinator, Kearney.
Nanette Hogg is the faculty advisor for the SIMM organization.

– 30 –

Source: Nanette Hogg, 308.865.1574,
Writer: Sara Giboney, 308.865.8529,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *