University Bands concert is April 14

Contact: Duane Bierman, director of bands, 308-865-8607,

Kearney, Neb., April 8, 2013 – The University of Nebraska at Kearney Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble will present a concert on April 14. The free, public concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall of the Fine Arts Building.

The UNK Wind Ensemble will feature Michael Crawford of Broken Bow, the winner of this year’s Concerto Competition, as a guest soloist on the first movement of the “Concerto for Bass Tuba,” by Ralph Vaughan Williams. Crawford is a music performance major and a member of the Wind Ensemble.

The Wind Ensemble will also feature guest conductor Aaron Svoboda, who is a former director of bands at Kearney High School.

The UNK Symphonic Band, directed by Brian Alber, and the UNK Wind Ensemble, directed by Duane Bierman, will together perform two movements from Moussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition.”

The members of the UNK Symphonic Band and the UNK Wind Ensemble are listed below, alphabetically, by hometown:

UNK Symphonic Band


Auburn- Kelsey Krieger, alto saxophone

Bennington- Victoria Klaus, flute/piccolo

Burwell- Riley Sheets, alto saxophone

Columbus- Audrey Grant, trumpet

Grand Island- Andrea Hesterman, trumpet; Daniel Carlson, baritone saxophone; Logan Gregory, clarinet; Michael Cantrell, clarinet; Patience Buck, trombone; Toni Birch, tuba

Hastings- Taylor Hubbard, tenor saxophone; Tyler Hinrichs, bass clarinet; Zach Thomas, percussion

Hildreth- Amaryah Fritz, alto saxophone

Holdrege- Amanda Gray, percussion

Kearney- Aaron Woolley, French horn; Ashley Jeffs, flute/piccolo; Brock Persson, tuba; Dan Gibbs, flute/piccolo; Jacinda Uden, flute/piccolo, oboe; Nathan Thorn, percussion; Tyler Walker, flute/piccolo

Lexington- Carlos Herrarte, euphonium; Nathan Richardson, percussion

Lincoln- David Morrison, trumpet

Morrill- Kate Lynne Duncan, flute/piccolo

Minden- Jon Hunzeker, trombone; Matthew Stubbs, trumpet; Vergil Nelson, trombone

Mitchell- Matt Powell, percussion

North Platte- Nellie Ambrose, trumpet

Ogallala- Alex Rudolph, tuba; Mark Messner, bassoon

Omaha- Emily Smith, flute/piccolo; Haley Allen, tenor saxophone; Jacob Fahrlander, euphonium; Joey Casella, alto saxophone; Megan Miller, alto saxophone; Nate Skinner, percussion

Pierce- Laurie Venteicher, French horn

Sargent- Hyojung Kim, flute/piccolo

Shelby- Megan Veburg, trumpet

Shelton- Ruth Vakoc, clarinet

Sidney- Alex Jacobsen, percussion

Stanton- Lindsay Christiansen, bass clarinet

Utica- Christina Dean, clarinet

Wahoo- Hillary Fick, clarinet


Illinois, Andalusia- Tony Garcia, tenor saxophone

Kansas, Shawnee- Elizabeth Roy, tenor saxophone

Texas, Cypress- Chelsea Rasing, clarinet

Wyoming, Wheatland- Chelsea Sedam, flute/piccolo, French horn

UNK Wind Ensemble


Auburn- Aleria Alexander, clarinet

Bennington- Victoria Klaus, flute

Broken Bow- Michael Crawford, tuba

Ceresco- Gabe Haberman, trumpet

Columbus- Audrey Grant, horn

Crete- Rae Fahrlander, oboe

Grand Island- Austin Gewecke, trumpet; Eric Rempe, bass trombone; Logan Gregory, bass clarinet; Patience Buck, trombone; Ryne Miller, bari saxophone

Gretna- Aaron Ray, clarinet

Hickman- Kristina Price, clarinet

Kearney- Adam Zheng, clarinet; Aaron Woolley, horn; Kory Reeder, string bass; Nathan Thorn, percussion; Tyler Walker, alto saxophone

Lincoln- Courtney Wagner, flute

Lexington- Joel Montes, percussion; Morgan Sentelle, trumpet; Nate Richardson, percussion

Madrid- Bert Ogg, clarinet

Minden- Jon Hunzeker, trombone; Katherine Lewis, alto saxophone; Matthew Stubbs, trumpet; Vergil Nelson, euphonium

Mitchell- Matt Powell, percussion

North Platte- Barbara Lloyd, flute

Ogallala- Mark Messner, tuba; Nichole Holland, tenor saxophone

Omaha- Nate Skinner, percussion; Paula Newhouse, tuba

Pierce- Laurie M. Venteicher, horn

Plainview- Justin Kluver, percussion

Prague- Jessica Sousek, bass clarinet

Ralston- Joseph Casella, bassoon part

Scottsbluff- Justin Vogel, trumpet

Sargent- Hyojung Kim, flute

St. Libory- Adam White, percussion

Wahoo- Hillary Jean Fick, clarinet

Wallace- John Paul Lempke, euphonium


Illinois, Andalusia- Tony Garcia, bassoon part

Iowa, Ames- Stephanie Holtman, flute

Minnesota, Mahtomedi- Kelly Skunes, trumpet

Japan, Kyoto- Maiko Oku, alto saxophone



-Amanda Arnold