Dr. Duane Bierman
UNK director of bands, 308.865.8607

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Wind Ensemble will be in concert on Thursday, Nov. 29, at 7:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Recital Hall.

The performance, which will be directed by Dr. Duane Bierman, UNK director of bands and an assistant professor of music and performing arts, will include “Folk Dances” by Dmitri Shostakovich arranged by J. Curnow; “Suite for Band” by Alan Hovhaness; and “Come, Sweet Death” by J.S. Bach, arranged by A. Reed, among others. The concert is free and open to the public.

Dr. Neal Schnoor, senior adviser to the chancellor for executive affairs and former UNK band director, will direct the piece “Semper Fidelis” by J.P. Sousa. Dr. James Cook, professor of music and performing arts, will perform “Piano Concerto in A Minor” by Edvard Grieg, arranged by D.F. Bain.

“I chose these pieces based on the program’s educational needs, the ability of the ensemble and on probable audience impact,” Dr. Bierman said. Membership in the UNK Wind Ensemble is by competitive audition.

The members of the fall 2012 Wind Ensemble, and the instruments they play, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:


Auburn- Aleria Alexander, clarinet

Benedict- Sean Thomas Bresnahan, bassoon part

Bennington- Victoria Klaus, flute

Bradshaw- Morgan Lynn Tracy, horn

Broken Bow- Michael D. Crawford,* tuba

Ceresco- Gabe Haberman, trumpet

Cairo- Mary Irvine, bass clarinet

Columbus- Audrey Grant, horn

Dickens- Brooke Harris,* flute

Grand Island- Austin Gewecke, trumpet

Grand Island- Eric Rempe – Bass, trombone

Grand Island- Logan R. Gregory, bass clarinet

Grand Island- Patience Buck, trombone

Grand Island- Ryne Miller, tenor saxophone

Gretna- Aaron Ray, clarinet

Hickman- Kristina Price, Eb clarinet, clarinet

Kearney- Anna Nelson, horn

Kearney- Mikayla Leigh Uden, horn

Kearney- Nathan Thorn,* percussion

Kearney- Tyler J. Walker, alto saxophone

Lexington- Joel A. Montes, percussion

Lexington- Morgan Sentelle, trumpet

Lincoln- Courtney Wagner, flute

Madrid- Bert Ogg, clarinet

McCook- Casey Cobb, bari saxophone

Minden- Jon Hunzeker,* trombone

Minden- Katherine Lewis, alto saxophone

Minden- Matthew Stubbs,* trumpet

Minden- Nicole Tidd, clarinet

Minden- Vergil Nelson,* euphonium

Mitchell- Matt Powell, percussion

North Platte- Barbara Lloyd, flute

Ogallala- Mark Messner, tuba

Ogallala- Nichole Holland,* tenor saxophone

Omaha- Paula Newhouse, tuba

Omaha- Riley Barrett, percussion

Pierce- Laurie M. Venteicher,* horn

Plainview– Justin A. Kluver, percussion

Prague- Jessica Sousek,* bass clarinet

St. Libory- Adam J. White, percussion

Wahoo- Hillary Jean Fick,* clarinet

Wallace- John Paul Lempke, euphonium





Andalusia- Tony Garcia, bassoon part



Ames- Stephanie Holtman, flute

Treynor- Sonya Push, clarinet



Mahtomedi- Kelly Skunes, trumpet



Kyoto, Japan- Maiko Oku,*, alto saxophone


(* Denotes section leader)