Dr. Gene Fendt
department of philosophy professor, or 308.865.8298

Twelve philosophy students at the University of Nebraska at Kearney have been selected to receive major scholarships for the 2012-2013 academic year.

The O.K. Bouwsma Scholarships and the Welch Family Scholarships for Poetry and Poetics are the two scholarships that were awarded. To qualify for a Bouwsma Scholarship, students must submit a philosophy essay and be recommended by a philosophy professor. The essays are read, judged and ranked by members of the philosophy department. Students receive awards based on their essays. The O.K. Bouwsma scholarship was created through a gift from an anonymous donor and named after a leading University of Nebraska-Lincoln philosophy professor.

The Welch Family Scholarship is awarded to students with a high ability in poetry and poetics. The award is named after Dr. Don Welch, a UNK 1954 graduate and UNK emeritus professor of English. Dr. Welch was also the first Reynolds Chair of Poetry at UNK.

O.K. Bouwsma Scholarship recipients, along with the amount they have received, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Columbus- Nathan Klatt, $2,500
Fremont- Carly Havener, $2,500
Kearney- Jarod DeTurk, $1,500; Dale Spiehs, $800
Kenesaw- Matt Duffy, $4,000
Lexington- Taylor Hyatt, $2,500
Lincoln- Amanda Ullman, $4,000
North Platte- Stephanie Ayers, $1,500
Ravenna- Rachel Nozicka, $1,500
St. Paul- Dustin Jacobs, $2,500

Centennial- Jordan Hughett, $800

Welch Family Scholarship for Poetry and Poetics recipients include:

Columbus- Nathan Klatt, $1,200
Kearney- Joel Cardenas, $800