Dr. Ron Wirtz
UNK Phi Kappa Phi president, 308.865.8592

The members of the University of Nebraska at Kearney chapter of Phi Kappa Phi national honor chapter will be inducted 15 new members.

Ceremonies will take place in the Learning Commons, located on the second floor of Calvin T. Ryan Library, at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 3. There will be a reception immediately afterwards.

Membership in the honor society is by invitation only. Seniors and graduate students must rank in the top 10 percent of their class, and juniors must have completed one semester and rank in the top 7.5 percent of their class. Faculty, professional staff and alumni may also be eligible for membership.

The mission of Phi Kappa Phi is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education. Less than 10 percent of colleges in the United States have Phi Kappa Phi chapters. Student membership comes with several benefits including the opportunity to compete for an $8,000 scholarship for graduate school.

Among the campuses that have Phi Kappa Phi chapters are the Georgia Institute of Technology, University of Missouri at Columbia, U.S. Military Academy and Cornell University. Famous members include former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, former First Lady and now Secretary of State Hilary Rodham Clinton, musician Ellis Marsalis and actress Jamie Lee Curtis, to name a few.

Members of the UNK chapter are alphabetically listed below by hometown:

Arnold- Dustin Andre
Broken Bow- Annette Maynard
Burwell- Risa Mann
Clearwater- Mikayla Brune
Dannebrog- Michael Swanson
Doniphan- Lacie Wiese
Hastings- Mark Krienert
Inman- Paul Tompkins
Kearney- John Henderson (graduate student) and Mackenzie Bohl
O’Neill- Jeffery Babl
Scottsbluff- Emily Burkey
Wakefield- Kelsey Bard
Wayne- Michelle Jarvi
Wood River- Markeya Dubbs