Tim Danube
associate director of the Nebraskan Student Union, 308.865.8523

Cameron Deter, a junior from Red Oak, Iowa, and Brock Drudik, a junior from Juniata, have been elected student body president and vice president, respectively, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

As the student body president, Deter will also serve on the University of Nebraska Board of Regents. The student body president serves as the official student body representative to the University of Nebraska administration and the public. The president has the power to pass or veto legislation passed by the Student Senate. Deter is the vice president of the Delta Tau Delta fraternity, a Deans’ List student, a member of the St. Jude Executive Board, Loper Liaisons and Industrial Distribution Leadership Team.

Drudik will serve as the student body vice president. This is the second-highest student body official and representative to the University of Nebraska administration and the public. The vice president has the power to lead the Student Senate in the absence of the speaker of the senate, chairs the Presidential Executive Cabinet and an ex-officio, nonvoting member of the Senate Executive Committee. Drudik is a Deans’ List student and assistant vice president of recruitment for the Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity.

In all, there were 11 students elected to Student Senate. The organization is the legislature for the student body, and students are elected from each of the UNK academic colleges. The Student Senate has the power to pass legislation for the campus, approve new student organizations, appoint student representatives to UNK Faculty Senate and other administrative committees, and perform other duties concerning student issues of concern.

Student senators are elected to represent their respective colleges. Those elected to Student Senate are listed below by college.

College of Business and Technology: Victor Chacon, Cozad; Ashton Jackson, Kearney

College of Natural and Social Sciences: Michael Christen, Anselmo; Whitney Nelson, Hastings; Richard Poppe, North Platte; Kenzie Fisher, Oberlin, Kan.;

College of Education: Hannah Harmon, Dawson; Alexis Brisco, Scottsbluff

College of Fine Arts and Humanities: Stephanie Benes, North Platte

University College: Greg Nordhues, Kearney; Connor Schulte, Kearney