Five UNK Students Accepted Into National Advertising Honor Society

Dr. Ruth Brown
associate professor, Department of Communication, 308-325-1111 or

UNK- Five seniors at the University of Nebraska at Kearney have been accepted into the national advertising honor society Alpha Delta Sigma.
        The five include: Rebecca Osborne of Atkinson, Lisa Elson of Curtis, Eric Korth of Hastings, Sharice Ward of Lincoln and Jessica Blex of Syracuse. The students were inducted into the honor society in ceremonies that took place during the last meeting of the year for the UNK Advertising & Public Relations Club.
To be considered for membership in Alpha Delta Sigma, seniors must have a minimum of a 3.25 grade point average overall, which includes their advertising-related coursework, according to Dr. Ruth Brown, club adviser and associate professor. In addition, the students must be members of an American Advertising Federation (AAF) student chapter and be nominated for membership by the club adviser.
Alpha Delta Sigma, the only national professional advertising honor society in American higher education, was organized in 1913 by students at the University of Missouri, Columbia. Students selected for Alpha Delta Sigma have their names and contact information sent to all member agencies and organizations in the AAF. In addition, the students receive certificates and are presented honor cords to wear at graduation.