Band Day Parade and Competition Saturday

Dr. Gary Davis
UNK Symphonic Band director, 308.865.8497

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Band Day will be held Saturday, Sept. 24, and will feature both parade and field competitions.

The parade will begin at 9 a.m., at Central Avenue and Railroad Street, proceed north to 27th Street. Then continue west toward the university campus. After the parade, there will be an awards ceremony at 11 a.m. at Foster Field.

During the presentation of awards, the UNK band exhibition will begin. Kearney Catholic and Grand Island Northwest will then perform their field exhibitions at the conclusion of the presentation. Awards will be presented to the best drumline, auxiliary unit, drum majors and pre-parade inspection. A sweepstakes trophy will be awarded to the band with the highest overall scores.

Last year there were 24 parade entries. Cindi Wolfe, who is coordinating the parade for the Chamber of Commerce, said she expects about 25 float entries this year. The entries will include area businesses as well as nonprofit organizations. Among the entries are Boy and Girl Scout Troops, Nebraska Public Power District and the American Red Cross Disaster Services Trailer.

Dr. Neal Schnoor, assistant director of bands, said that more than 1,500 students will participate in this year’s Band Day parade. Participating bands hail from Amherst, Axtell, Bertrand, Brady, Callaway, Clay Center, Elm Creek, Franklin, Fullerton, Gibbon, Grand Island Central Catholic, Grand Island Northwest, Kearney Catholic, Kearney eighth grade, Kearney High, Kenesaw, Ogallala, Palmer, Pleasanton, Ravenna, Spalding, St. Paul, Sumner-Eddyville-Miller, Thedford, Wilcox and Wood River.

The University of Nebraska Pride of the Plains Marching Band is a 110-member ensemble. Members of the band are listed alphabetically by hometown:

     Ainsworth – Brindi Utemark
     Archer – Jody Neel
     Atkinson – Rebecca Osborne
     Axtell – Heather Colling
     Ayr – Derek Gangwish
     Beatrice – Mark Nelson
     Beaver City – Bridgette Robinson
     Belgrade – Kristina Scott
     Bellevue – Adam Hotchkiss and Corrina Wright
     Blue Hill – Danielle Mohlman
     Broken Bow – Michael Crawford
     Chadron – Jonathan Dailey
     Clarkson – Rita Vogel
     Columbus – Lindsay Starostka
     David City – Chris Hein
     Elm Creek – Megan Brestel
     Elwood – Lindsay Roper
     Franklin – Savannah Murphy
     Fullerton – Kalie Wetovick
     Gibbon – Brandon Bohn
     Gothenburg – Katie Moore
     Grand Island – Thomas Carlson, Mackenzie Cochran,
Abigail Countryman, Adam Eschliman and Ray Zeleski
     Gretna – Bethany Chandler
     Henderson – Mark Hiebner
     Hershey – Amber Garza
     Hickman – Jessica Niemeyer
     Holdrege – Celeste Lempke and Jennifer Nelsen
     Kearney –  Lynn Beistline, Abby Bittman, Sarah Giffin, John Harrold, Ashley Hellerich,
Katherine Hermann, Stacy Laue, Tina Lund, Matthew Manning, Joshua Palmer,
Lance Rall, Amber Rieken, Brent Roemmich and Eryn McBride
     Lexington – Courtney Klamm and Kelli Margritz
     Lincoln – Jessica Adcox, Jessica Duryea, Jason Gfeller and Jennifer Smith
     Malmo – Bryce Urbanek
     McCook – Shawn Pfanstiel
     Norfolk – Kimberly Anderson and Paul Niedbalski
     North Platte –  James Conley, Antonio Diaz, Turner Dorr, Rebecca Gosnell
and Kari Sawyer
     Omaha – Jonathan Flanagan, Zachary Harbert, Katie Langenfeld,
Sarah Mellick, Jodi Phillips and Micah Yost
     Ord – Jacob Neeman
     Osmond – Kari Ekberg
     Palmer – Amanda Dubas and Mandy West
     Papillion – Amanda Foy and Elizabeth Nordbrock
     Plattsmouth – Megan Kumler
     Ralston – Adam Grazier
     Riverdale – Danielle Jahnke
     Scottsbluff – Lindsey Bennett
     Sidney – Brendee Brauer
     St. Paul – Adam White
     Wayne – Emily Brady and Joseph Brumm
     West Point – Phillip Erb
     Wood River – Timothy Davis and Sarah Uhrich

     Longmont – Megan Busch
     Nathrop – Leslie Scifres
     Paonia – Adrienne Olin

     Cedar Falls – Sarah Fritsche
     Cedar Rapids – Corey Marz
     Conrad – Brett Kluever

     Garden City – Kerri Myers

     Herndon – Kimberly Minnig

     Gillette – Nicholas Brennan

Shozaburo Takahashi