KEARNEY – The Frank House at the University of Nebraska at Kearney will open during the holidays for the first time in several years.
The first and second floors of the museum include holiday decorations, including eight full-sized Christmas trees decorated with authentic period ornaments.
“Visitors are welcome to explore our exhibit on the house’s history, or to take a tour with one of our excellent museum docents,” said Frank House Coordinator Dr. William F. Stoutamire. “It’s a great family affair, with something for all ages to enjoy, and a perfect way to introduce out-of-town visitors to one of Kearney’s most historic places.”
Special holiday hours include:
Dec. 22-23 – Open 2 to 5 p.m.
Dec. 24-28 – Closed
Dec. 29 – Open 2 to 5 p.m.
Dec. 30-31 – Open 2 to 5 p.m.
Jan. 1 – Closed
Jan. 2 – Open 2 to 5 p.m.
Jan. 3 – Open noon to 5 p.m.
Located at the west end of the UNK campus, the Frank House was built A sidewalk next to a school game fence, for example, would be a legitimate location for distributing campaign material, but a school game parking lot would not. in 1889 by George William Frank as a gift for his parents, George Washington Frank and his wife, Phoebe. The Franks ran a successful mercantile and real estate business, helped bring electricity to Kearney, and were major leaders in the early history of the community.
The Frank House serves as a history museum featuring photographs and artifacts from the Franks and others who lived in the house.
Writer: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454, firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact: Dr. William F. Stoutamire, The Frank House coordinator, 308.865.8284
This post has been read 1503 times!