UNK Dance presenting ‘plucked’ Thursday through Saturday

Photos by Corbey R. Dorsey, UNK Communications
Photos by Corbey R. Dorsey, UNK Communications

KEARNEY – The University Theatre at Kearney and UNK Dance Program are presenting “plucked” Thursday through Saturday at the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Miriam Drake Theatre.

Director of Dance Noelle Bohaty explores the interconnected nature of chaos and order, dissent and harmony, through movement in both commercial and concert dance in this evening-length performance. “plucked” pulls from the shared human experiences of displacement, disorder and discomfort that push us to try harder and fly farther.

The evening features repertory and premiere works by Bohaty, UNK dance faculty Leslie Abegglen and guest artist Kathy Diehl, as well as selected student choreography. Bohaty’s work, “the thing with feathers,” personifies the poem by Emily Dickinson. Student choreography showcases work by Paige Corr, Mary Dworak, Maria Klingelhoefer, Emma Newman, Trisha Miller, Cierra Parks, Lexi Powell, Kalee Reams, Hunter Scow, Mary Storm and Jacob Wiese-Augustine. The concert also presents the Community Project/Solo Series for its fourth consecutive year.

The dance company consists of 21 performers from UNK, in collaboration with both student and faculty costume and lighting designers, including Julie Douglass and Del DeLorm. The evening features 12 pieces, running about two hours including intermission.

When: 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Jan. 30-Feb. 1

Where: Miriam Drake Theatre, UNK Fine Arts Building

Cost: General admission tickets are $10 for adults, $5 for youths ages 3-18, and free for UNK students with a valid ID. For tickets, contact the UNK Box Office at 308.865.8417 or boxoffice@unk.edu.

Amherst – Maria Klingelhoefer, performer/choreographer
Arapahoe – Alayna Whipple, performer
Curtis – Mary Storm, performer/lighting designer
Dawson – Zachary Allen, understudy
Hastings – Sarah Waite, performer
Hastings – Kalee Reams, performer/choreographer
Holdrege – Julia Young, understudy
Kearney – Sabrina Eynon, performer
Kearney – Taury Himmerich, performer
Lincoln – Ally Fricke, performer
Lincoln – Trisha Miller (December graduate), performer/choreographer/lighting designer
Neligh – Rachel Higgins, performer
North Platte – Seth Mavigliano, performer
North Platte – Erica Whipple, performer
Omaha – Mary Dworak, performer/choreographer
Omaha – Emma Newman, performer/choreographer/ASM/lighting designer
Omaha – Hannah Petersen, performer
Omaha – Rebekah Petersen, performer
O’Neill – Cierra Parks, performer/choreographer
Scottsbluff – Paige Corr, performer/choreographer
Scottsbluff – Hunter Scow, performer/choreographer
Tilden – Jacob Wiese-Augustine (December graduate), performer/choreographer
Wilber – Lexi Powell, performer/choreographer 

Student Production Staff
Alliance – Darian Wilson, assistant stage manager
Lincoln – Sammantha Hanks, costume designer
North Platte – Tiffany Hall, lighting design coordinator
Omaha – Gail Nicholson, costume designer
Scottsbluff – Megan Hayhurst, stage manager
Scottsbluff – Mikayla Fulk, costume design coordinator
York – Lucy Haarmann, assistant stage manager

Faculty/Staff/Guest Artistic Team
Noelle Bohaty – Director/Choreographer
Leslie Abegglen – Choreographer
Kathy Diehl – Guest Choreographer
Del DeLorm – Lighting Designer
Julie Douglass – Costume Coordinator/Shop Supervisor
David Greenberg – Sound Coordinator
Darin Himmerich – Technical Director