Rachel Flaugh, Paige Kordonowy picked to lead Student Government

KEARNEY – Rachel Flaugh and Paige Kordonowy are the new student body president and vice president, respectively, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

Paige Kordonowy
Paige Kordonowy
Rachel Flaugh
Rachel Flaugh

They were elected Thursday following two days of campus voting this week and will be inaugurated April 5.

As student body president, Flaugh, a junior chemistry major from Hartington, will serve as the official student body representative to the University of Nebraska administration and public. The president has the power to pass or veto legislation passed by the Student Senate.

Kordonowy is a junior business administration/economics major from Haymarket, Va.

Flaugh’s campus involvement includes serving as a Chancellor’s Ambassador, Student Diplomat, chemistry tutor and residence hall president. She is a member of the Honor’s Program, Honors Mentor and has been a member of Student Government, serving as speaker of the senate.

Flaugh and Kordonowy identified the following issues they plan to address as leaders of Student Government:

  • Ensure Student Union upgrades proposed by current President Evan Calhoun and Vice President Nick Stevenson are completed within the upcoming year.
  • Advocate upgrades to the Calvin T. Ryan Library study areas and work with Dining Services to bring a coffee shop to the library.
  • Work with UNK Police and Parking to implement a warning system prior to issuing tickets.
  • Create a student organization that pairs incoming international students with current students.
  • Work with the Women’s Center and Counseling Care to enhance campaigns against sexual assault on campus.
  • Promote a policy that would prevent professors from presenting new information or having exams during dead week. Dead week would be strictly limited to review sessions.
  • Support Loper Athletics more effectively, including promotion of Loper Loonies and partnering with student organizations to host home games.

In addition to Flaugh and Kordonowy, 18 students were elected to UNK Student Senate. The organization is the legislature for the student body, and students are elected from each of the UNK academic colleges.

Student Senate has the power to pass legislation for the campus, approve new student organizations, appoint student representatives to UNK Faculty Senate and other administrative committees, and perform other duties concerning student issues of concern.

Students are elected to represent their respective colleges. Those elected are listed below by college:

College of Business and Technology:
Jesse Zwiener, Albion
Logan Krejdl, Aurora
Abraham Hermosillo, Cozad
Jacob Stallbaumer, Cozad
Austin Partridge, Grand Island
Nolan Hollibaugh, Rapid City, S.D.
College of Natural and Social Sciences:
Drew Thompson, Aurora
Jessa Schultis, Diller
Kelsey Wiemers, Kearney
Paige Whalen, Kearney
Dallas Doering, Trenton
Kristen Tomjack, Wahoo
College of Education:
Stephanie Paulsen, Arapahoe
Taylor Rieper, Hampton
College of Fine Arts and Humanities:
Marrissa Nutter, Geneva
Jessie Harris, Kearney
University College (deciding/pre-professional):
Alex Miller, Kearney

Graduate Student
Wilfredo Lopez, Lexington