Applauding Excellence recognizes students for campus contributions

 KEARNEY – The “Applauding Excellence” event at the University of Nebraska at Kearney recently recognized students who have been strong contributors to the campus community.

“Applauding Excellence” is a program that recognizes the work of student organizations and student leaders. Tuesday’s event was sponsored by the Office of Student Life and Division of Student Affairs.

Students are nominated for the awards by students, staff or faculty members. Award recipients received a plaque. Established in 2012, the Applauding Excellence ceremony continues to recognize the meritorious efforts of the university’s talented student leaders and student organizations.

Recipients in each of the award categories are listed below:

Emerging Leader
Ben Grossnicklaus (Aurora)
Rookie of the Year for Student Employment
Marissa McGeorge (Butte)
Community Service Program of the Year
Sigma Phi Epsilon Muscle Walk

Outstanding Employee Community Service
Abel (Josh) Arias (Lexington)
Diversity Program of the Year
JAK Japanese Festival
Outstanding Employee Campus Service
Shaun Friedrichsen (Fairbury)
Unsung Hero
Tyson Lanka (Ogallala)
New Student Organization of the Year
National Art Education Association
Outstanding Student Organization Advisor
Charles McGraw (Sigma Phi Epsilon)
Leadership Legacy
Lanny Fuller (Kearney)
Outstanding Collaborative Program
Queer Straight Alliance & Kearney High “Support Love Week”
Student Employee of the Year
Riley Sheets (Burwell)
Outstanding Student Organization
St. Jude Up ‘til Dawn
Outstanding Organization Leader
Adam Ripp (Pleasanton)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *