Pride of the Plains Marching Band announces members, football road trip

_72O0774KEARNEY – The Pride of the Plains Marching Band at the University of Nebraska at Kearney has named its members for 2014.
The band includes 95 musicians and is co-directed by Brian Alber, assistant director of bands, and UNK Director of Bands/Percussion Duane Bierman.
Mark Messner of Ogallala and Andrea Hesterman of Grand Island are drum majors. Morgan Shea of Roca is the twirler.
The band’s first performance is Sept. 4 at the UNK versus Northwest Missouri St. University football game in Maryville, Mo. The football road trip is the band’s first since 2010.
Alber said the opening show of the season features music from the Broadway musical “Glory” and the famous swing chart “Sing, Sing, Sing.” The band’s first home performance is Sept. 11 at the UNK football game against Washburn.
Along with performances at all home football games, Pride of the Plains performs in the annual Band Day Parade Sept. 20 in Kearney, followed by an exhibition performance at the Bearcat Marching Festival that afternoon
Pride of the Plains Marching Band members are listed below, by hometown, with Nebraska students listed first, followed by out-of-state students.

Adams – Celia Timms
Alliance – Elaine Tolstedt
Auburn – Kesley Krieger
Bassett – Daniel Mizner
Bellevue – Jordan Duff
Bennington – Keegan McGill
Butte – Marissa McGeorge
Clay Center – Rebecca Blome
Columbus – Audrey Grant, Rylee Jones
Cozad – Ellen Laird, Christopher Strohmyer
Crete – Kenny Baires
DeWitt – Josh Fisher
Fullerton – Brian Wamberg
Gering – Jeremy Eskam, Darrin Gonzalez
Giltner – Keysha Foulk
Grand Island – Toni Birch, Aaron Borer, Julie Bruns, Dan Carlson, Rocio Carrasco, Logan Gregory, Kelsey Lehn, Thomas Prentice, Cruz Salazar, Brittani Svitak
Hastings – Tyler Hinrichs, Alyson Wolfe
Hickman – Ashtyn Bratt, Sydni Ziemke
Holdrege – Collin Sindt, Zach Thomas
Kearney – Dan Gibbs, Logan Hansen, Tara Jamison, Ashley Jeffs, Kaylei Margheim, Rachel Niedbalski, Andrew Ochsner, Brock Persson, Rachel Stefan, Jaci Wilson
Kilgore – Rose Hafer
Kimball – Johnathon Kurth
Lebanon – Emily Fitzsimmons
Lexington – Isaac Biehl, Giovanni Flores, Carlos Herrarte, Alyssa Olsen, Morgan Sentelle
Lincoln – Suzanne Carnazzo, Cole Chancellor, Sidney Delozier, Bailey Jorgensen, Nicole Kennedy, David Morrison
Madrid – Bert Ogg
Minden – Nate Hunzeker, John Jacobs
Mitchell – Luis Panduro
North Platte – Tyler Arnold, Audrey Gay, Courtney Harwager, Devan Newton, Mika Rhodes, Alex Rudolph, Kaylee Thompson, Kristen Wullschleger
Ogallala – Craig Berol, Seth Dikeman, Cassandra Ramirez, Balie Waldhelm
Omaha – Haley Allen, Marcie Bebout, Sydney Norris, Chelsea Rasing, Emily Smith, Morgan Wheatley
Pierce – Rachel Tweedy
Sidney – Alex Jacobsen
Stromsburg – Tristan Peterson
Sutherland – Tim Pfeiff
Table Rock – Amanda Dyas
Utica – Christina Dean
Wahoo – Gabe Haberman

Wichita, Kan. – Bryce Newton
Andalusia, Ill. – Tony Garcia
Cheyenne Wyo. – Chelsea Sedam


Writer: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454,
Contact: Brian Alber, Assistant Director of Bands, 308.865.8607,

One thought on “Pride of the Plains Marching Band announces members, football road trip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *