Mortar Board names 27 new members to UNK’s Xi Phi Chapter


KEARNEY – The Xi Phi Chapter of Mortar Board at the University of Nebraska at Kearney has named its        27 new members who will be initiated in a ceremony April 11 at the Museum of Nebraska Art.

Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for their exemplary scholarship, leadership and service. New members will be involved in the chapter during the 2014-15 school year.

The Xi Phi Chapter of Mortar Board was chartered at UNK in 1988 and is one of 230 chapters nationwide. Nearly 500 individuals have been selected as collegiate and honorary members of the UNK chapter.

UNK’s Xi Phi Chapter is regularly recognized at the annual Mortar Board national conference as one of the most active and successful chapters in the country, said Advisor Amber Messersmith.

The chapter has won multiple Project Excellence Awards as well as the prestigious Golden Torch designation for meeting or exceeding all standards set by the national organization.

New Mortar Board members, listed by hometown, include:

Alliance – Billie Kunzman
Arcadia – Bethany Lueck
Beatrice – Kelsie Post
Cambridge – Lindsey Eubanks
Columbus – Rachel Wemhoff
Crookston – Haley Gunnink
Fremont – Britt Jensen
Grand Island – Daniel Carlson
Howells – Katee Rocheford
Imperial – Jonathan Hess
Kearney – Tessa Mannlein, Kelly Messbarger, Connor Schulte
Lincoln – Jessica Albin, John Gibbs
Minden – Morgan Kristensen
Odell – Sarah Maginnis
Omaha – Matthew Lenagh, Kaitlyn Liberty, Carly Wollman
O’Neill – Heidi Hostert
Ravenna – Rachel Nozicka
Red Cloud – Margaret Jackson
Scottsbluff – Megan Brown
Seward – Chesany Eberle

Highlands Ranch, Colo. – Cole Manhart
Qingdao, China – Liu Xiaojun


Source: Amber Messersmith, 308.865.8966,
Writer: Todd Gottula, 308.865.8454, gottulatm@unk.ed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *