Dr. Nanette Hogg
associate professor of communication, 308.865.1574

Students in Mass Media (SIMM) has inducted nine new members at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

According to Dr. Nanette Hogg, SIMM adviser and communications associate professor, SIMM is the only honor society for those studying journalism and mass communication at UNK.

“In order to be eligible and nominated for SIMM, a student must be a full-time student, have at least a sophomore class standing, be working toward a major or minor in a mass communication field and maintain a 3.2 overall grade point average,” Dr. Hogg said.

The goals of SIMM are to provide its members with experience they may encounter in their future careers, to build their resumes and to meet with career professionals to learn more about the career they are pursuing. Members of SIMM also provide the community of Kearney and UNK campus with service.

According to Dr. Hogg, members of the organization meet every first and third Wednesday of the month to discuss current matters and to place promotional inserts from businesses in the “Antelope” newspaper.

SIMM officers include President Rachel VanBoening of Blue Hill, Vice President Megan Axmann of Elm Creek, Secretary Jaycie Woslager of Laurel and Treasurer Rachel Harvey of Scottsbluff.

The new SIMM members, and their majors, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown.



Columbus– Maggie Sowl, Advertising and Public Relations

Deweese-Amanda Fike, Advertising and Public Relations

Giltner– Keysha Foulk, Sports Administration

Hastings– Rachel Schmidt, Advertising

Hebron– Amanda Arnold, Mass Media

Neligh– Rebekah Kuhfal, Multimedia

Scottsbluff– Adrianna Tarin, Public Relations

Waco– Jackie Ziemke, Business Administration




Pine Bluffs– Marc Bacon, Multimedia