Dr. Michael Beard
UNK assistant professor of music, 308.865.8631

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble will perform a joint concert on Thursday, April 21.

The performance, which is free and open to the public, will be at 7:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Recital Hall in the UNK Fine Arts Building.

Under the direction of Dr. Michael Beard, UNK assistant professor of music, the Symphonic Band will perform “Overture for Winds,” “Three Ayers from Gloucester” and “Symphony No. 4.” In addition, “Seascapes” will be performed featuring Dr. Seth Fletcher, UNK low brass lecturer, on the euphonium.

Under the direction of Dr. Duane Bierman, UNK director of bands, the Wind Ensemble will perform “Blue Shades,” “Psalm for Band,” “Spirit of KSN” and “First Suite in E-flat for Military Band.”

Dr. Ron Crocker, UNK professor of music, will be a guest conductor during the performance of “Spirit of KSN.” “Spirit of KSN” was originally written by Kearney State Normal School music faculty member B.H. Patterson. Dr. Crocker recently arranged the work for modern concert band.

The UNK Symphonic Band is an instrumental ensemble open to all UNK students. Students do not have to audition to participate in the Symphonic Band. The UNK Wind Ensemble is an audition-only group of 35-40 players and is described as playing “the best wind literature available at the university level.”

Members of the Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble are listed below, alphabetically by hometown, along with their respective instruments.

Members of the UNK Symphonic Band

ARCADIA– Christina Ritz, trumpet
AUBURN– Aleria Alexander, clarinet
BEATRICE– Alexander Niedfeldt, trumpet
BELLEVUE– Heather Wilkie, tenor saxophone
BROADWATER– Trey Blomenkamp, percussion
BROKEN BOW– Megan Crawford, clarinet, and Michael Crawford, tuba
BURWELL– Riley Sheets, alto saxophone
COMSTOCK– Robert Roth, trumpet
GRAND ISLAND– Patience Buck, trombone; Logan Gregory, tenor saxophone; Alicia
Griesman, flute; Andrea Hesterman, trumpet; and Kristin Klanecky, flute
HICKMAN– Austin Nutter, trombone
JUNIATA– Abbie Schuyler, clarinet
KEARNEY– Dan Gibbs, piccolo and flute; Ashley Jeffs, flute; Katherine Lewis, alto
saxophone; Zachary Margheim, trombone; Vergil Nelson, trombone; Brock Persson, tuba; Nate Thorn, percussion; and Jaci Uden, flute
LEXINGTON– Martha Herrarte, bass clarinet, and Joel Montes, percussion
LINCOLN– David Morrison, trumpet
MCCOOK– Casey Cobb, tenor saxophone, and Tyler Cobb, clarinet
MINDEN– Jonathan Hunzeker, trumpet, and Matthew Stubbs, trumpet
NEWPORT– Cameron Scheibe, bass trombone
NORTH PLATTE– Alisha Arnold, flute; Kyra Holloway, oboe; and Dillon Johnson,
baritone saxophone
OMAHA– Megan Miller, alto saxophone; Paula Newhouse, tuba; and Chelsea Rasing,
OSMOND– Clint Dennis, euphonium
PIERCE– Chelsea Atkins, trombone
PLAINVIEW– Justin Kluver, percussion
SCOTTSBLUFF– Amy Krichau, flute
SHELBY- Megan Veburg, trumpet
WAHOO– Hillary Fick, clarinet
WILCOX– Ben Loschen, percussion

WOODLAND PARK– Shawna Beeler, alto saxophone
SHAWNEE– Elizabeth Roy, tenor saxophone

JAPAN– Maiko Oku, alto saxophone; and Ikumitsu Tanaka, trombone

Members of the UNK Wind Ensemble

AMHERST– Christopher Gugel, alto saxophone
ASHLAND– Kim Morwitzer, clarinet
BEATRICE- Troy Ehmke, alto saxophone
BLAIR– Helen Breuer, horn
BROKEN BOW- Michael Crawford, tuba
COMSTOCK- Robert Roth, trumpet
CRETE- Rae Fahrlander, oboe
DICKENS- Brooke Harris, flute
GIBBON- Amy Smallcomb, horn
GRAND ISLAND- Ryne Miller, baritone saxophone, and Eric Rempe, trombone
HOLDREGE- Eric Jones, percussion
JUNIATA- Abbie Schuyler, clarinet
KEARNEY- Tyler Allen, trombone; Daniel Gibbs, flute; Paloma Mena-Werth, oboe;
Nathan Thorn, percussion; James Wolf, tenor saxophone; Adam Zheng, clarinet
LEXINGTON- Joel Montes, percussion
MCCOOK- Casey Cobb, tenor saxophone; Tyler Cobb, clarinet; and Julie Gates, flute
MINDEN- Jonathan Hunzeker, trombone; Rachel Schnoor, horn; and Matthew Stubbs,
NEWPORT- Cameron Scheibe, trombone
NORTH PLATTE- Tarassa Swedberg, horn
OGALLALA- Mark Messner, tuba
OMAHA- Kelci Fulton, flute; Cayle Jones, bass clarinet; and Nathan Skinner,
OSMOND- Clint Dennis, euphonium
PLAINVIEW- Justin Kluver, percussion
PRAGUE- Jessica Sousek, bass clarinet
SCOTTSBLUFF- Brooke Brown, clarinet, and Justin Vogel, trumpet
ST. EDWARD- Kevin Carder, trombone
WILCOX- Benjamin Loschen, percussion

AMES– Stephanie Holtman, flute
UNION– Stacia Kluever, percussion
MAHTOMEDI– Kelly Skunes, trumpet

JAPAN– Maiko Sugahara, clarinet