Nine Alumni Appointed to the University of Nebraska at Kearney Alumni Association Board

Michelle Widger
UNK Alumni Association, 308.865.8474

UNK- Bryan Kuntz (Class of 1995) of Kearney is the newly-elected president of the University of Nebraska at Kearney Alumni Association.

Kuntz, vice president of operations for Intellicom Computer Consulting, was elected at the fall meeting of the board of directors during Homecoming week on the UNK campus. He replaces Chad Rutar (Class of 1997) of Omaha.

Other officers for 2010-2011 are Andrea Walton Miller (Class of 2002), an attorney in Scottsbluff, president-elect, and Dr. Brett Kuhn (Class of 1986) an associate professor of pediatrics and psychology at University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, is secretary. Past president Brenda Snodgrass Christensen (Class of 1983) of Minden will continue to serve on the board as an ex-officio emeriti board member.

Nine board members were elected to three-year terms that began with the fall meeting. Of the nine, three are fromKearney. They include: Amy Fagot Cope (Class of 1999), a learning and training coordinator for Contryman Associates; Dr. Jay Dostal (Class of 2001), Kearney High School principal; and Jean Nelson Johnson (Class of 1960, MSE 1968, MSE 1986), a retired teacher and mental health specialist. Board members also from Nebraska include: David Bargen (Class of 1996), an attorney with Rembolt and Ludtke in Lincoln; Robin Rubenthaler Hines (Class of 1988, MSE 1991), a community counselor with North Platte Vocational Rehabilitation; and Gary Reber (Class of 1986), Archway Fund Manager with the Nebraska Wesleyan University Office of Advancement in Lincoln.

Three are from out-of-state. They include: Abby Losey Grenke (Class of 2001), an account manager with W. L. Gore & Associates in the Chicago (Ill.) area; Leah Bruns Holmberg (Class of 1994) of Jordan, Minn., former assistant director of first year programs at the University of Minnesota-Duluth; and Bill Peard (Class of 1984), who works in government relations for MediaCom in Des Moines, Iowa.

Seven board members completed their terms. The emeriti board members include: Cynthia Schug Bahler (Class of 1994) of Lamar, Doug Burritt (Class of 1995) of Osceola, Denise Strother Christensen (Class of 1980) of Kearney,Steven James (Class of 1977) of Danville, Calif., Lanny Jorgensen (Class of 1963) of Tucson, Ariz., Holly Nikels (Class of 1993) of Bettendorf, Iowa, and Nancy Yurges Osterbuhr (Class of 1995) of Minden.