UNK Wind Ensemble to Present a ‘Sousa Celebration’ in North Platte March 26

Dr. Neal Schnoor
UNK director of Bands, 308.865.88631

UNK– The University of Nebraska at Kearney Wind Ensemble will present a full Sousa community concert featuring some of the favorite marches of John Philip Sousa on Friday, March 26, in North Platte.

Directed by Dr. Neal Schnoor, UNK director of bands, the UNK Wind Ensemble will perform a series of marches written by Sousa including “The Stars and Stripes Forever” and “Semper Fidelis!”  An armed forces tribute and patriotic audience “sing-along” will also take place.

The UNK Wind Ensemble will perform at 8 p.m. at North Platte High School. The concert is free and open to the public.

The ensemble recently performed the concert at the Merryman Center in Kearney. In 1928, John Philip Sousa and his band performed two concerts in Kearney during their Silver Anniversary tour of the country. According to Dr. Schnoor, one of the performances took place in what was then the junior high school auditorium, which is now the Merryman Performing Arts Center.

“After 81 years, we were pleased to again fill the Merryman Center with the sounds of John Philip Sousa and the Sousa Band,” Dr. Schnoor said.

UNK Wind Ensemble members, and the instruments they play, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Amherst – Chris Gugel, alto saxophone
Archer – Jody Neel, tuba
Ashland – Kimberly Morwitzer, clarinet
 – Ashley Lawton, trumpet
 – Cameron Scheibe, trombone
Beatrice – Troy Ehmke, alto saxophone
 – Helen Breuer, horn
Comstock – Robert Roth, trumpet
 – Rae Fahrlander, oboe
Fremont – Josh Steager, trumpet
Gering– David Kelley, percussion
Grand Island
 – Eric Rempe, trombone; Katelyn Rempe, clarinet
 – Brooke Harris, piccolo
 – Eric Jones, percussion
 – Tyler Allen, trombone; Paul Niedbalski, euphonium; Brock Persson, tuba; Nathan Thorn, percussion; Paloma Mena-Werth, oboe; James Wolf, bari saxophone
 – Joel Montes, percussion
 – Casey Cobb, tenor saxophone; Tyler Cobb, clarinet; Julie Gates, piccolo
Minden – William Gleason, trumpet
North Platte – Michael Conley, trumpet; Carey Teters, clarinet
Omaha – Andrew Jacobitz, trombone; Cayle Jones, bass clarinet
Osmond – Clint Dennis, euphonium
Scottsbluff – Brooke Brown, clarinet; Justin Vogel, trumpet
St. Libory – Adam White, percussion

       Union– Stacia Kluever, percussion

JAPAN – Megumi Kajigaya, clarinet; Daisuke Yamaguchi, flute