Students in Mass Media Honor Society New Members Announced

Dr. Nanette Hogg
associate professor of communication, 308.865.1574

Students in Mass Media (SIMM) honor society at the University of Nebraska at Kearney has announced new members for the spring 2009 semester.

New members include Chelsea Archer of Beatrice, Kimberly Gerdes of Johnson, Taryn Vasa of Wahoo, Rachel McPherson of Hastings and Jason Arens of Springview.

The purpose of SIMM is to improve the quality of student mass communications, journalism and other media at the college level. It encourages student participation in local campus communications while emphasizing ethics, and promoting the understanding and the support of freedom of student expression, including the freedom of speech.

“Since I have been the faculty adviser, SIMM has been involved at one time or another in the communication for the Big Event and the Campus Kitchen,” said Dr. Nanette Hogg, faculty adviser. “We have hosted media personnel on campus, and each year we buy, wrap and present Christmas gifts to an area family.”

In addition, members of SIMM read and rate freshman papers for the department assessment program.

To become a member, students must complete a minimum of three credit hours of journalism and/or mass media classes, maintain a 3.2 overall grade point average, have a major or minor in any mass communications field, and be a full-time student at a sophomore level or higher.

SIMM officers are listed alphabetically by hometown: 
Grand Island
-Alisha Hubbard, treasurer 
– Mandi Behn, secretary

Julesburg-Aubrie Hill, vice president

– Kaitlyn Noone, president