Students Elect 2008-2009 Student Body President, Vice President And Student Government Representatives

Tim Danube
associate director of the Nebraskan Student Union, 308.865.8523

UNK- Tim Hruza, a political science and economics major from Ord, is the newly elected student body president at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. Elected vice president was Angela Reynolds of Wood River.

Hruza, son of Dennis and Laurie Hruza, has been a member of student government for three years. He began his involvement with student government at UNK as a member of Student Court before being elected to serve as a senator for the College of Natural and Social Sciences.

He has also served as treasurer for Locke & Key Society and is a member of Phi Gamma Delta social fraternity. On campus, he has worked in Admissions as a Student Diplomat and as a resident adviser for Centennial Towers West. In addition, he served on the General Studies Council and was the area coordinator for The Big Event. The Big Event is a day of community service which is organized each spring by UNK students. He is also a member of campus honor societies Phi Eta Sigma and Beta Gamma Sigma.

Student Body Vice President Reynolds is a business administration major with an emphasis in management and a minor in economics. Last June, she was among the first UNK students to be inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma international business honor society. The daughter of Mick and Debra Reynolds of Wood River, she has served on student government for the past three years.

An Honors program student, she is also a member of Rho Alpha Sigma and Phi Kappa Phi honor societies. Also, she serves as a Chancellor’s Ambassador. Her campus activities include LPAC (Loper Programming & Activities Council), Cornerstone UNK, the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM), Mortar Board and National Residence Hall Honor Society (NRHH). She has also served as the president of Hall Council.

Reynolds has received numerous awards including: Outstanding Business Management Junior, Female Resident Adviser of the Year 2006-07 and the ACTE District V Post-Secondary Student Award.

In addition to electing a new student body president and vice president, members of student government were also elected.

The students are elected to represent each of the colleges–College of Business & Technology (CBT), College of Education (COE), College of Fine Arts & Humanities (FAH) and the College of Natural and Social Sciences (NSS). Those elected and the colleges they represent are listed alphabetically by hometowns in Nebraska, followed by those who are out-of-state and international students: include:


Colon – Caleb Chvatal (FAH)

Eustis – Brooke Young (CBT)

Gering – Bennett Dixon (NSS); Lindsey Wendt (FAH)

Holdrege – Russell Crawford (COE); Cory Shield (CBT)

Kearney – Andrew Prososki (NSS)

Morrill – Jordan Gonzales (NSS)

Wayne – Nate Summerfield (CBT)



Aldie – Brandon Flanigin (CBT)


Nassau – Ryan Bastian (CBT)