UNK Band Ensembles Present A Winter Concert At Fine Arts Recital Hall

Dr. Gary Davis
UNK Symphonic Band director, 308.865.8497

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble presented a winter concert recently at the Fine Arts Recital Hall.
            The first half of the performance featured the Wind Ensemble. The ensemble performed four pieces, including movements from William Grant Still’s “Folksong Suite for Band” and “October” by Eric Whitacre. Ensemble member Wesley Pendergrass of Mountain Home, Ark., the winner ofthe 2008 Concerto Aria Competition, performed a tuba solo to “Daniel and the Lion’s Den” by Francis McBeth.
            The Symphonic Band closed out the second half of the concert with a mix of Russian and American musical selections, including “Stars and Stripes Forever” by John Phillip Sousa. The band also performed “A Light Unto the Darkness” by David Gilligham, which was written in tribute to the victims of the Oklahoma City bombing. The closing piece will be “Fantasia in G” by Tim Mahr.
            The band is lead by co-directors Drs. Gary Davis and Neal Schnoor of the UNK Department of Music and Performing Arts.
            The members of the band are listed below by hometown, state and country:
Archer- Jody Neel
Aurora- Ashley Lawton
Beatrice- Troy Ehmke, Molly Hartley, Mark Nelson
Bellevue- Kara Dacey, Corinna Wright
Blair- Helen Breuer
Clarkson- Rachel Vogel
Columbus- Sara Dewyke
David City- Leah Bartek
Doniphan- Kallie McDermott
Farwell- Jennifer Rathman
Fremont- Mechelle Hespen
Genoa- Blaine Drozd
Gibbon- Brandon Bohn, Amy Smallcomb
Grand Island- Michelle Bergholz, Kathryn Brozek, Stephen Carlson,
            Mackenzie Cochran, Alicia Griesman, Katelyn Rempe, Alicia Spelts
Gretna- Bethany Chandler
Hartington- Sheila Pinkelman
Hastings- Brittney Kramer
Juniata- Dallas Owen
Kearney- Tyler Allen, Lynn Beistline, Chad Flanagan, Anthony Ford, Ashley Hellerich,
            Stacy Laue, Miles Margritz, Paul Niedbalski, Megan Theesen
Kimball- Lisa Childs
Lexington- Arturo Banderas, Dayvid Cardenas
Lincoln- Alicia Hunt, Lou Joplin
McCook- Tyler Cobb
Minden- Katherine Lewis, Adrian Sanabria-Diaz
Newport- Cameron Scheibe
North Platte- Jordan Blackledge, James Michael Conley, Jon Sandau
Ogallala- Deidre Volberding
Omaha- Kelci Fulton, Andrew Jacobitz, Matthew Morse, Lauren Ostberg
Overton- Jalisa Bauer
Phillips- David Ziola
Pickrell- Laura Goracke
Ralston- Adam Grazier
Seward- Nicholas Lee
St. Paul- Matt Hartington
Weeping Water- Casey Webster
West Point- Phillip Erb
Wood River- Sarah Uhrich
York– Caryn Vincent
            Mountain Home- Wesley Pendergrass
            Cedar Rapids- Corey Marz
            Red Oak- Frederick Bochmann
            Union- Brett Kluever
            Hoxie- Kylie Lewis
Mari Nakamura
Asami Otsuka
South Korea
            Jeollanam Joe – Jeongeun Moon
            Seoul – Seung Ha Na