Dr. Jim Payne
Jazz Rock Ensemble director, 308.865.8606

Caribbean and African layered rhythms performed by the UNK Percussion Ensemble will open the spring Jazz Rock Ensemble concert Saturday, April 29, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.
The concert, which is free and open to the public, begins at 7:30 p.m., in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall. The UNK Percussion Ensemble, under the direction of Dr. Neal Schnoor, will perform along with several members of the Jazz Rock Ensemble. The ensemble will play Papite  and A La Nañigo.
After the opening with the UNK Percussion Ensemble, the Jazz Rock Ensemble, directed by Dr. Jim Payne, UNK professor of music, will continue the  concert with performances of music written for big bands from 1943 to present.    The ensemble will perform jazz pieces styled in several types of swing, ballad, jazz funk and salsa.
Dr. Payne said, “The Jazz Rock Ensemble brings together UNK students from all over the region and Japan to play great jazz and rock music from the best professional big bands in the nation.”
The music for the program will feature charts from the bands of Maynard Ferguson, Glenn Miller, The Boss Brass, Count Basie and the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra.  Composers include Matt Harris, Jeff Hamilton, Rob McConnell and George Stone. Several soloists will be featured.
Members of the Jazz Rock Ensemble are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Bellevue – Adam Hotchkiss, trombone
Broken Bow – Nicholas Brennan, tenor saxophone
Chadron – Jonathan Dailey, guitar
David City – Bryce Urbanek, trombone
Holdrege – Megan Brestel, trombone, and Dirk Riley, percussion
Kearney – Abby Bittman, tenor saxophone; Heather Hansen, alto saxophone; Joshua Palmer, drums; and Brent Roemmich, baritone saxophone
Lincoln – Paul Ewalt, piano
North Platte – James Conley, trumpet and Antonio Diaz, trumpet
Omaha – Jonathan Flanagan, trumpet
Pierce – Benjamin Brummels, electric bass
Ravenna – Brad Bohn, electric bass, and Brandon Bohn, trumpet
York – Scott Vincent, trumpet

         Conrad – Brett Kluever, trombone

         Rock Springs – Jessica Pavlik, alto saxophone

Ko-nan Shi – Kiyotaka Arai, guitar