Faculty, Staff and Administrators Honored at the University of Nebraska at Kearney For Retirement and Years of Service

John Lakey
vice chancellor for Business & Finance, (w) 308.865.8205

The University of Nebraska at Kearney honored faculty, staff and administrators for their retirement and/or for their years of service to the university at the annual Celebrating Excellence Retirement Luncheon held Friday in the Nebraskan Student Union.

One service award presentation drew a standing ovation. Dr. Kent Estes, long-time professor of counseling and school psycholog y who died in January, was recognized posthumously for 30 years of service. His award was accepted by his sons.

Faculty members who were recognized for their retirement include: Rosella Meier and Terry Renner, Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, College of Education; Dr. Mike Benzel and Marion Grandone, Department of English, College of Fine Arts and Humanities; and Peggy Miller, Deparatment of Mathematics and Statistics, College of Natural and Social Sciences.

Staff retirees include Virgy Lund, former G.W. Frank House director and curator; Dr. William R. Lewis, former vice chancellor for University Relations; and Paul Frink and Joe Mendoza, both custodians in the Facilities Department.

Those honored for their years of service include:

2005 Retirees