Kristin Howard
308.865.8126 OR

Through The Gold Torch Society, a group of alumni women are lending their guidance, encouragement and career experience to young women at UNK.

The group’s fifth annual meeting is set for Sept. 17-18. The meeting will feature sessions covering topics including balancing career and family, leadership, networking and taking the leap into the work force following graduation. Alumni and students will have the opportunity to network and establish mentoring relationships.

Sponsored by the UNK Alumni Association, The Gold Torch Society provides alumni the opportunity to return to campus and share a weekend of activities and special events with a select group of UNK undergraduate women.

“The society’s alumni members are strong, successful women from a variety of backgrounds including education, politics, medicine, business and journalism,” said Jim Rundstrom, executive director of the UNK Alumni Association. “It is wonderful to see the relationships that have formed because of the Gold Torch Society.”

Alumni are nominated for a three-year membership in the society. Student membership is one year and is by application only.

Twenty-five UNK alumni are participating this year. By community, they are:
Fort Calhoun – Tammy Morer-Urdahl, 1980
Kearney – Barb Friskopp, 1979; Lee Ann Olson, 1982; Karen Rhoads 1981; Dr. Kimberly Carlson, 1992; Denise Christensen, 1980, Krista Sheldon Fritson, 1988; Julie Larsen, 1977; Kimberly M. Ziola Oliphant, 1989; Chris Weis, 1989
Minden — Brenda Snodgrass Christensen, 1983
Lincoln -Dr. Lisa Blankenau, 1982; Shelly Kulhanek 1988; Lori Pippitt, 1996; Heidi Weaklend, 1994
Omaha – Kristine Tynan Gerber, 1988; Kael Welch Sagheer, 1990; Norma Deeb, 1970
Syracuse – Terry Zimmers, 1972.
Fishers, IN – JoAn Scott, 1986
Franklin, TN – Dwann Holmes-Olsen, 1993
Shawnee Mission, KS – Brenda VanLengen, 1988
South Sioux City – Heidi Jo Blair-Esteves, 1995
Newton, IA – Erica Westbrook, 1996
Atlanta, GA — Jennifer L.  Johnson, 1994

Twenty-five UNK undergraduate women were selected as members of the society. They are:
Ogallala — Diane Iwan, Kacey Johnson, Karynn Kucera
Valpraiso — Sheila Bouc
Bellevue — Sara Brown
Laurel — Katie Dickey
Lincoln — Andrea Herndon
Lynch — Korena Holen
Kearney – Wendy Mattson
Scottsbluff  — Paige McFeely, Naomi Schemm
North Platte – Kristen Miller
Omaha — Kathleen Parish
Grand Island — SiAra Rasmussen
Atkinson — Jennifer Slaymaker
Bloomfield — Karri Thunker
Omaha — Micah Torgrimson, Christine Williamson
Columbus — Ruth Udey
Ravenna — Cynthia Waskowiak
Broken Bow — Stephanie Weatherly
Hartington — Chrysantha Wiebelhaus
Red Cloud — Paige Wulf
Cheyenne, Wyo. — Rachel Yosten
Kensington, Kan. — Jennifer Bienhoff