Scholarship Awards Honors Given to UNK Greeks

Cami Wacker
associate director of student development/retention, 308.865.8519

The University of Nebraska at Kearney’s annual Greek Scholarship Awards Night honored many chapters and individuals for their academic performance from the spring 2002 semester. The awards night was held September 16 in the Fine Arts Building.

The Alpha Phi sorority received the highest sorority GPA award with a 3.31 GPA for the semester. Runner-up was Alpha Omicron Pi with a 3.29 GPA. The Delta Tau Delta fraternity had the highest fraternity GPA, with a 3.06. Runner-up was Sigma Phi Epsilon with a 3.03 GPA.

Most Improved Sorority GPA went to the Alpha Omicron Pi sorority. Runner-up went to Gamma Phi Beta sorority. Most Improved Fraternity GPA was awarded to Sigma Tau Gamma and Pi Kappa Alpha came in as runner-up.

The Outstanding Faculty Award went to Dr. Peter Longo, Honors Program director and a political science professor, and Dr. William Jurma, Fine Arts and Humanities associate dean.
The Shirley McPeck Walker Scholarship recipients were Michelle Kruse, Chi Omega, Grand Island and Jen Clausen, Alpha Omicron Pi, Ord.

The Panhellenic Achievement Award went to Michelle McGeorge, Chi Omega, Craig and Amy Dix, Alpha Phi, Waverly, received the Outstanding Academic Sophomore Award.

The Most Improved Sorority GPA was awarded to Crystal Floyd, Alpha Phi, South Sioux City.