A group of University of Nebraska at Kearney alumni women are lending their guidance, encouragement and career experience to young women at UNK through the mentoring program, the Gold Torch Society. The Gold Torch Society provides alumni the opportunity to return to campus and share a weekend of activities and special events with a select group of undergraduate women. The Gold Torch Society is sponsored by the UNK Alumni Association.

“The alumni members are strong, successful women from a variety of backgrounds including education, laws, politics, medicine, journalism and business,” said Jim Rundstrom, executive director of the UNK Alumni Association. “This is the second year for this group, and we continue to be excited about the society’s ability to bring alumni and students together and create a unique mentoring, networking setting.”

Alumni are nominated for a three-year membership in the society. Student membership is only one year and is by application only. The members of the Gold Torch Society are:

Cairo-Denise D. Myers, 1991
Hastings-Betty Kort, 1964
Holdrege-Dr. Susanne George Bloomfield, 1968
Kearney-Jeanne V. Ross, 1982
Lexington-Kyle L. Hanson, 1987
Lincoln-Dianne Dempewolf Brown, 1962; Jennifer Jennings Davis, 1993; Karen
Kilgarin, 1979; Suzanne Oldham, 1971; Sen. DiAnna Rebman Schimek, 1963; and Dr.
Lisa Trumler Sullivan, 1988
Omaha-Elissa T. Bosley, 1998; Celann LaGreca, 1979; Molly Maguire, 1989; and
Kael Welch Sagheer, 1990
Paxton-Janell Godberson Beveridge, 1979
Anchorage, Alaska-Judge Karen L. Hunt, 1961
Burbank, California-Judith Henggeler Spohr, 1963
Berthoud, Colorado-Shawna Wach Silvius, 1996
Littleton, Colorado-Jennifer Love Timmons, 1996
South Barrington, Illinois-Joyce Strout, 1970
Ames, Iowa-Dr. Dianne Gabrukiewicz Bystrom, 1975
Des Moines, Iowa-Alicia Hough Feldman, 1993
Lawrence, Kansas-Tanis Hall Goedert, 1994
Overland Park, Kansas-Jana L. Fitchett, 1983

Undergraduate members:
Amherst-Shelli Bauer
Beatrice-Marcy Young
David City-Julia Mowers
Elm Creek-Stacey Sentelle
Hildreth-Jeanine Jelkin
Holdrege-Wendi Sadler
Kearney-Aimee Gloystein, Nivarka Gukathasan, Molly Lungrin, Abby Rose
Lincoln-Cheri Barta
Ogallala-Mackenzie Cone
Omaha-Rebecca Czaja, Kayla Hammersky, Erin Leahy, Danielle Lively and Holly
Paxton-Lauren Sedlacek
Roseland-Melissa Shaw
Stapleton-Thresa Woracek
Wakefield-Katie Hoffman
Norton, Kansas-Jodi Ward
Salina, Kansas-Elizabeth Doll
Comfrey, Minnesota-Michelle Marks