UNK students nominated for national broadcasting awards

KEARNEY – University of Nebraska at Kearney students continue to receive national recognition for their excellence in broadcasting.

Lopers are finalists in seven categories for the 2023-24 Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Media Awards competition, which includes campus radio and television stations from across the country.

The sports broadcasting team for KLPR 91.1 FM received multiple nods, including best football play-by-play (Jon Willis of Omaha and Kade Mohr of North Platte), best sports update (“Loper Update” with Willis, Ethan McCormick of Bennington, Traeton Harimon of Bayard and Alex Hammeke of Ellinwood, Kansas) and best sports director (Willis).

Hammeke is also a finalist for best news promotion and Rhiannon Painter of Valentine, Seth Heikes of Bennington, Paige Steinman of Emerson and Morgan Semm of Dannebrog teamed up to create a best public service announcement nominee.

On the video side, recent UNK graduate Grace McDonald of Rockville is a finalist for best news report and “Talking UNK” featuring Logan Grose of Lawrence, Kansas, and the Video @ The Antelope production team received a nomination for best talk program.

The IBS Media Awards will be presented March 2 during the organization’s annual conference in New York City.

UNK students were also recognized during the recent International Student Broadcasting Championship, a global competition launched this year by Australia-based Ramp Media.

Harimon won the best sports play-by-play category with Hammeke as color commentator. Willis was also a finalist in that category with Alexis Sander of Gothenburg as color commentator.

The International Student Broadcasting Championship includes radio, podcast, video and digital content creation and e-sports broadcasting. It’s judged by industry professionals representing leading companies worldwide.