UNK Dance performing spring concert Thursday through Saturday

KEARNEY – University Theatre at Kearney and the UNK Dance Program are presenting their spring dance concert, “overTURN,” Thursday through Saturday in the Miriam Drake Theatre on campus. All showtimes are 7:30 p.m.

Director of Dance Noelle Bohaty unearths the hidden, reveling in the uncomfortable to discover what lies beneath through movement in both commercial and concert dance in this evening-length performance. The concert features new work by Bohaty and dance faculty Leslie Abegglen as well as selected student choreography. Guest artist Jessica Deahr of Chicago Dance Crash will present company repertory piece “The Generator.”

Bohaty’s work, “the curiosity of bliss,” examines the power of self-perception, while Chicago Dance Crash’s “The Generator” pounds the pulse of hip-hop culture into our bones with electric currency. Student choreography showcases work by Zachary Allen, Elizabeth Anne, Chloe Bohaty, Allyson Fricke, Shelby Taylor Haney, Lucy Haarmann, Taury Himmerich, Emma D. Emde, Hannah Petersen, Rebekah Petersen and Rheann Marie Rodenbur. The concert also presents the Community Project/Solo Series for its sixth consecutive year.

The dance company consists of 22 performers from UNK, in collaboration with student, faculty and alumni designers. The evening features 12 pieces, running about two hours including intermission. Face masks are recommended for attendees, but not required.

When: 7:30 p.m. Thursday through Saturday (March 24-26)
Where: UNK’s Miriam Drake Theatre
Cost: General admission tickets are $10 for adults; $5 for youths ages 3-18 and groups of 10 or more; and free for UNK students with a valid ID. For reservations, contact the UNK Theatre Box Office at 308-865-8417 or boxoffice@unk.edu.

Student Performers/Choreographers (listed by hometown)
Amherst – Maria Klingelhoefer, dancer
Chadron – Morgan Rutledge, dancer
Curtis – Mary Joyce Storm, dancer (UNK graduate)
Falls City – Zachary Allen, choreographer/dancer
Grand Island – Kara Almquist, dancer
Hastings – Sarah Waite, dancer
Holdrege – Julia Peterson, dancer
Hyannis – Shelby Taylor Haney, choreographer/dancer
Ingalls, Kansas – Rheann M. Rodenbur, choreographer/dancer
Kearney – Taury Himmerich, choreographer/dancer
Lincoln – Chloe Bohaty, choreographer/dancer
Lincoln – Allyson Fricke, choreographer/dancer
Lincoln – Tatum Hilger, dancer
Meadow Grove – Angel Qualset, dancer
Minden – Amana F. Reed, dancer
North Platte – Maximus Tyberious Wohler, dancer
Omaha – Elizabeth Anne, choreographer/dancer
Omaha – Emma D. Emde, choreographer/dancer
Omaha – Hannah Petersen, choreographer/dancer
Omaha – Rebekah Petersen, choreographer/dancer
Osaka, Japan – Airi Inoue, dancer
York – Lucy Haarmann, choreographer/dancer 

Student Artistic and Production Staff
Aurora, Colorado – Nathaniel York, assistant lighting designer
Grand Island – Bryce Emde, stage manager
Grand Island – Lainey Schmeits, assistant stage manager
Omaha – Emma D. Emde, lighting designer/production manager
Riverdale – Trevor Altwine, lighting designer
West Point – Mitchell Lierman, sound coordinator 

Faculty/Staff/Alumni Artistic Team
Noelle Bohaty, artistic director/choreographer/costume designer
Leslie Abegglen, choreographer
Del DeLorm, lighting coordinator
Darin Himmerich, technical coordinator
Mikayla Herman, costume designer and coordinator (UNK graduate)
Mary Joyce Storm, lighting designer (UNK graduate)