Mass media organization initiates seven new student members

Mass Media LogoKEARNEY – Seven new members were initiated into the Students in Mass Media (SIMM) organization at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. SIMM is the honorary society for students studying journalism and mass communication at UNK.

To be eligible for SIMM, students must be a full-time student, have at least a sophomore class standing, be working toward a major or minor in a mass communication field, and maintain a 3.2 overall grade point average.

The goals of SIMM are to provide members with experiences they may encounter in their future careers, build their resumes and meet with career professionals to learn more about the career they are pursuing.

SIMM also provides the community and campus with service and opportunities not available without the sponsorship of the organization. Members of the organization meet to discuss current matters, and they place promotional inserts from businesses in The Antelope student newspaper to help fund the organization.

New Members
Albion – Amber Hallberg
Creston – Hanna Hake
Gibbon – Blake Brown
Kearney – Ashlee Glaser
Spalding – Tori Valasek
West Point – Haley Pierce
Peoria, Ariz. – Molly Stern

Current Officers
Albion – Amber Hallberg, Media Officer
Hebron – Rachael Fangmeier, Secretary
Kearney – Sydney Norris, President
Kearney – Laura Wardyn, Treasurer
McCook – Amelia Cooper, Event Coordinator
St. Louis, Miss. – Katie Coker, Event Coordinator


Media: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454,
Source: Nanette Hogg, Associate Professor Communication, 308.865.1574,