Students In Mass Media adds eight new members

shutterstock_157131461KEARNEY – Eight new members were initiated into the Students In Mass Media (SIMM) organization Monday at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. SIMM is the honorary society for students studying journalism and mass communication at UNK.

To be eligible for SIMM, students must be a full-time student, have at least a sophomore class standing, be working toward a major or minor in a mass communication field, and maintain a 3.2 overall grade point average.

The goals of SIMM are to provide members with experiences they may encounter in their future careers, build their resumes and meet with career professionals to learn more about the career they are pursuing.

SIMM also provides the community and campus with service and opportunities not available without the sponsorship of the organization. Members of the organization meet to discuss current matters, and they place promotional inserts from businesses in The Antelope student newspaper to help fund the organization.

New Members
McCook – Amelia Cooper
North Platte – Jessica Moser
Omaha – Madeline Maloley
Shelton – David Mueller
Waco – Mackenzie Crowder
Wilcox – Rachel Arehart
St. Louis, Miss. – Katherine Coker
Norrköping, Sweden – Elisabeth Tryselius

Current Officers
Kearney – Sydney Norris, President
Omaha – Madeline Maloley, Vice President
Kearney – Laura Wardyn, Treasurer
Hebron – Rachael Fangmeier, Secretary
Lincoln – Erin Cuddy, Web Coordinator