College of Allied Health Professions recognizes Kristensen, Bicak

UNK Chancellor Doug Kristensen, left, senior vice chancellor Charles Bicak, right, with CAHP Dean Kyle Meyer, center.

College of Allied Health Professions

Two administrators from the University of Nebraska at Kearney, home to the Health Science Education Complex, were among seven individuals honored at the College of Allied Health Professions’ recent annual award ceremony.

UNK Chancellor Doug Kristensen and Charles Bicak, UNK senior vice chancellor for academic and student affairs, were recognized for their outstanding service to the Allied Health Professions. Each year CAHP recognizes extraordinary contributions in health care, education or service that result in significant advancement of the college and allied health professions.

This year, the first classes of allied health students enrolled in the Kearney division at the HSEC – a facility that came about thanks to a remarkable partnership between UNK and University of Nebraska Medical Center.

Additional Awards

Katherine Jones
Katherine Jones

Katherine Jones, Ph.D., associate professor of physical therapy education, earned the CAHP Excellence in Research Award, which recognizes significant research contributions and addition to the knowledge of the clinical, scientific, and/or educational community. Dr. Jones gave a short presentation, “Coordination within Multi-team Systems Improves Organizational Learning.”

Weining (Ken) Zhen
Darwin Brown
Darwin Brown

Darwin Brown, assistant professor and clinical director of physician assistant education, and Weining (Ken) Zhen, M.D., medical director, radiation oncology, and courtesy professor of radiation science technology education, were honored for Excellence in Teaching. Nominees for this award must have a faculty appointment in the CAHP and demonstrate outstanding skills in directing learning, advising students, and facilitating effective interaction involving faculty and students.

Tanya Custer, assistant professor of radiation science technology education, and Kim Michael, program director of diagnostic medical sonography and Anderson Distinguished Professor, teamed to win the CAHP Innovative Scholarship Award. This award was established to recognize faculty who have made significant contributions to the advancement of teaching in health professions education through the development of innovation in the area of teaching, and who have disseminated their innovation through presentations and publications. The two have done groundbreaking work in the use of the Anatomage virtual dissection table as a teaching tool.


Kim Michael and Tanya Custer
Kim Michael, left, and Tanya Custer, right