Dance Program presents ‘When Planets Align’ April 24-26

UNK Communications
KEARNEY – Twenty-five students in the UNK Dance Program will present an evening of concert dance in three performances April 24-26.“When Planets Align” will be performed at 7:30 p.m. April 24 and April 25, and at 2 p.m. April 26 at UNK’s Miriam Drake Theatre.The show features eight original works spanning genres of modern, jazz, contemporary and theatrical dance.Tickets are $10 for the public, $5 age 18 years and younger, and free for UNK students. Tickets may be purchased at the box office in the Fine Arts Building.Dance Director Dayna DeFilippis choreographed three new pieces that will be featured. They include:

  • “At the Heart of a Collapsing Cloud” – A modern dance centered on the night sky and star gazing.
  • “On the Solar Winds” – A modern work exploring the manifestation of the Northern Lights.
  • “Hatched/ The Egg” – An experimental contemporary dance investigating the evolution of humanity.

Five pieces choreographed by UNK students Michelle Ostmann of Eagle, Dillon Nelson of Burwell, Minori Yamauchi of Japan, Akaela Lieth of Kearney and Makenzie Hinrichs of Hastings also will be highlighted.

A Dance film short titled “Ei Tass! The Sequel” will also be shown at each performance. The film is a follow up to last year’s premier and was written and directed by UNK theatre major Nate Baldwin of Ogallala.
UNK Costume Coordinator – Sara Ice
Chicago – Carlie Casas
Kearney – Elaine Christensen
Panora, Iowa – Rebecca Marie Epperson


Professor – Del DeLorm
Lincoln – Matthew Benes
Chicago – Carlie Casas
Lincoln – Matthew Hansen

Burwell – Dillon Nelson
Columbus – Audrey Grant
Crofton – Tommy Augustine
Eagle – Michelle Ostmann
Elgin – Natalie Beckman
Fullerton – Natalie Lassek, Alyssa Wetovick
Fremont – Chloe Christensen
Grand Island – Clark Pohlmeier
Hastings – Makenzie Hinrichs
Kearney – Elaine Christensen, Akaela Lieth, Brianna Melroy, Jaci Wilson
Ogallala – Jessica Paloucek
Ord – Austin Edgehill
Papillion – Breanna Carter
Ponca – Erin Persinger
Roca – Connor Dudley
Scottsbluff – Brayden Ryan
Japan – Akira Watanabe, Mizuki Watanabe, Ruiko Saji, Minori Yamauchi
Korea – So-Young Chung


Media: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454,

Contact: Dayna DeFlilippis, dance director, 308.865.8642,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *