Wind Ensemble, Loper Low Brass members named; to perform at NMEA convention

KEARNEY – The University of Nebraska at Kearney has named members of its Wind Ensemble and Loper Low Brass groups.The Wind Ensemble has been selected to present a concert at the Nov. 20 Nebraska Music Educators Association convention in Lincoln.The last time a large instrumental ensemble from UNK performed at the NMEA convention was 2005, said Director of Bands Duane Bierman. The concert is at 4 p.m. in Kimball Recital Hall on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus.UNK’s Loper Low Brass, directed by Seth Fletcher, will also perform at UNL and the NMEA convention on Nov. 20 in a 10:30 a.m. concert in Westbrook Music Building room 119.Wind Ensemble members are listed below, by hometown, with Nebraska students listed first, followed by out-of-state students.
Adams – Celia Timms, alto sax.
Ayr – Tyler Hinrichs, clarinet.
Bennington – Victoria Klaus, flute; Keegan McGill, percussion.
Columbus – Audrey Grant, horn.
Cozad – Ellen Laird, percussion.
Crete – Kenny Baires, tuba.
Gering – Jeremy Eskam, tuba; Darrin Gonzales, trombone.
Grand Island – Toni Birch, euphonium; Aaron Borer, clarinet; Austin Gewecke, trumpet; Logan Gregory, tenor sax.
Gretna – Aaron Ray, clarinet.
Holdrege – Ruth Vakoc, clarinet.
Hickman – Kristina Price, clarinet.
Kimball – John Kurth, trombone.
Kearney – Katherine Berke, flute; Dan Gibbs, flute; Logan Hansen, trumpet; Tara Jamison, alto sax; Andrew Ochsner, bari sax; Kory Reeder, string bass; Tyler Walker, alto sax;  Aaron Woolley, horn.
Lexington – Carlos Herrarte, euphonium; Morgan Sentelle, trumpet.
Lincoln – Cole Chancellor, Oboe.
Minden – Nate Hunzeker, trumpet; Jared Sanford, clarinet; Matthew Stubbs, trumpet.
Mitchell – Matt Powell, percussion.
North Platte – Barbar Lloyd, flute.
Ogallala – Mark Messner, trombone; Alex Rudolph, tuba; Balie Waldhelm, bass clarinet.
Omaha – Haley Allen, tenor sax; Nate Skinner, percussion; Anna Wagemann, horn.
Pierce – Rachel Tweedy, clarinet.
Plainview – Justin Kluver, percussion.
Sargent – Hyojung Kim, flute.
Wahoo – Gabe Haberman, trumpet.
Wallace – John Paul Lempke, euphonium.
Andalusia, Illinois – Tony Garcia, bari sax.
El Paso, Texas – Joel Montes, percussion.

Loper Low Brass members are listed below, by hometown, with Nebraska students listed first, followed by out-of-state students.

Crete – Kenny Baires, tuba.
Gering – Jeremy Eskam, tuba.
Grand Island – Toni Birch, tuba; Patience Buck, trombone; Eric Rempe, bass trombone.
Kearney – Angela Benitz, euphonium; Zach Margheim, trombone; Brock Persson, tuba.
Kimball – Johnathan Kurth, trombone.
Lexington – Carlos Herrarte, euphonium.
Lincoln – David Morrison, trombone.
Mitchell – Luis Panduro, trombone.
Ogallala – Mark Messner, tuba; Alex Rudolph, tuba.
Omaha – Jacob Fahrlander, euphonium; Paula Newhouse, tuba.


Writer: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454,
Contact: Duane Bierman, Director of Bands, 308.865.8607,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *