Schulte, McKelvey named UNK student body president, VP


KEARNEY – Connor Schulte and Hayden McKelvey are the new student body president and vice president, respectively, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

They were elected Thursday following two days of campus voting this week. Student government inauguration is April 15 in the Nebraskan Student Union Ponderosa Room.

Connor Schulte

As student body president, Schulte will serve as the official student body representative to the University of Nebraska administration and the public. The president has the power to pass or veto legislation passed by the Student Senate.

Schulte, a junior advertising and public relations major from Kearney, is involved in Gamma Phi Beta sorority and the Panhellenic Council. She has been a student senator for three years and is active in Cornerstone UNK.

Hayden McKelvey

McKelvey, a junior industrial distribution major from Kearney, will serve as the student body vice president. This is the second-highest student body official and representative to the University of Nebraska administration and the public. The vice president has the power to lead the Student Senate in the absence of the speaker of the senate, chairs the Presidential Executive Cabinet and is an ex-officio, nonvoting member of the Senate Executive Committee.Schulte and McKelvey hope to increase student government transparency, increase direct collaboration with organizations and the city of Kearney, create a 24-hour study space and re-implement the Play It Forward initiative.

In addition to Schulte and McKelvey, 15 students were elected to UNK Student Senate. The organization is the legislature for the student body, and students are elected from each of the UNK academic colleges.

Student Senate has the power to pass legislation for the campus, approve new student organizations, appoint student representatives to UNK Faculty Senate and other administrative committees, and perform other duties concerning student issues of concern.

Students are elected to represent their respective colleges. Those elected are listed below by college:

College of Business and Technology: Natalie Jansen, Central City; Nathan Evans, Broken Bow; Tyson Lanka, Ogallala; Jesse Zwiener, Albion.

College of Natural and Social Sciences: Courtney Raike, Omaha; Dallas Doering, Trenton; Trevor Lee, Madrid; Wilfredo Lopez, Lexington; Courtney Wagner, Lincoln; Natasha Angulo, Kearney.

College of Education: Mallory Ritthaler, Fremont; Tyler Cogswell, Omaha; Sergio Ceja, Lexington.

University College: Tyler Mickey, Scottsbluff.

Graduate: Nicole Connor, Bennington


  • Source: Tim Danube, 308.865.8523,
  • Writer: Sara Giboney, 308.865.8529,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *