Members of student government announced

Moses Moxey-1

KEARNEY – The University of Nebraska at Kearney has announced the members of student government for the 2013-2014 academic year.

The student government is highly involved in all aspects of university governance and expresses opinions to the administration on issues regarding student life, academics and university policy. Each branch – executive, legislative and judicial – has specific roles and responsibilities.

The Student Senate is the legislature for the student body, and students are elected from each of the UNK academic colleges. The Student Senate has the power to pass legislation for the campus, approve new student organizations, appoint student representatives to UNK Faculty Senate and other administrative committees. It also performs other duties concerning student issues of concern.

The following students are members of the UNK student government this school year:
Moses Moxey, president and student regent, West End, Freeport, Bahamas
Victor Chacon, vice president, Cozad
Tyler Zoellner, chief of staff, Ogallala
Lorena Ortega, secretary of treasury/special projects, Lexington
Trevor Lee, secretary of student organizations and affairs, Madrid
Pierre Jefferson, secretary of community relations, Lincoln
Carrie Prososki, election commissioner, Kearney


Albion – Jesse Zwiener
Bennington – Nicole Connor
Central City – Natalie Jansen
Fremont – Mallory Ritthaler
Hastings – Whitney Nelson
Kearney – Connor Schulte, Hayden McKelvey
Lexington – Wilfredo Lopez
Lincoln – John Gibbs, Courtney Raike, Rebecca Swenseth
North Platte – Rick Poppe, Stephanie Benes
Ogallala – Tyson Lanka
Omaha – Carly Wollman
Trenton – Dallas Doering
Council Bluffs, Iowa – Brian Fountain
Huntington Park, Cal. – Sergio Ceja


Writer: Sara Giboney, 308.865.8529,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *