UNK lands regional, national honors for residence hall contributions

Contact: Todd Gottula, director of news and internal communications, 308.865.8454, gottulatm@unk.edu

KEARNEY – Twenty-four students, faculty, staff, programs and organizations at the University of Nebraska at Kearney were recognized in 2012-13 with Of The Month awards given by the National Residence Hall Honorary.

The honors include 24 regional and three national awards.

The UNK NRHH Chapter grades nominees and chooses campus winners, who are then judged regionally by students in the Midwest Affiliate of College and University Residence Halls organization. Regional winners are then judged nationally.

Of The Month winners are recognized for contributions to residence hall life and the UNK campus in various categories, with a focus on the four pillars of the National Residence Hall Honorary: service, leadership, recognition and scholarship.

University Heights was recognized with a national award in the residential community category for its residents’ role in creating a close-knit living community and family atmosphere.

University Heights offers apartment-style living for families and single students over age 21. The complex was singled out for helping new residents acquire furniture, as well as creating workout groups, car pools, childcare and filling other resident needs.

UNK student Lindsay Christiansen of Stanton and Tim McMullen, technology coordinator for the Office of Residence Life, also received national recognition.

Christiansen received an OTM for her leadership role in Randall Hall, which includes work with Loper Programming Activities Council and work as a resident assistant in 2013-14.

McMullen’s work in managing 11 computer labs was noted, including coordination of software upgrades, transferring records and filling other technology needs.

In addition to the national awards, the regional winners by category include:

Advisor – Kyle Brandyberry, Howells; Jen Kacere, Kearney; Tenille Stoeger, Scottsbluff.
Resident Assistant – Bethany Barelman, Coleridge; Emily Davidson-Hundt, Lincoln; Zachary Hemmer, Humphrey.
First-year Student: Nolan Pribnow, Lincoln.
Organization – RHA Executive Board (Brodie Sullivan-Bock, Brady; Ellie Heath, Rushville; Nicole Hoffman, Table Rock; Laura Juenemann, Kolby, Kan.; Residence Hall Association; Loper Programming and Activities Council.
Student – Ellie Heath, Rushville; Sarah Maginnis, Odell; Lindsay Christiansen, Stanton.
Faculty/Staff – Dr. Kurt Borchard, Sociology Geography and Earth Sciences; Dr. Greg Broekemier, Marketing and Management Information Systems; Sandy Heiden, Residence Life; Tim McMullen, Residence Life.
Spotlight – Diane Johnson, Kearney; Katie Lawrence, Columbus; Alyx Lingenfelter, Roca.
Social Program – Holiday Postcards.
Residence Life Faculty/Staff – Cacia Lyon, Cairo; Kaitlin Thompson, Falls City.
Residential Community – University Heights.