Alpha Phi Sigma inducts 4 into honor society

Contact: Julie Campbell, associate professor of criminal justice, 308-865-8510

Kearney, Neb., May 30, 2013 — Alpha Sigma’s Iota Xi Chapter inducted four students into membership this spring at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. Alpha Phi Sigma is the National Criminal Justice Honorary at UNK.

In order to be inducted into Alpha Phi Sigma, undergraduate students must declare a major in criminal justice, have completed three full-time semesters and have taken a minimum of four courses in the criminal justice field. Students are required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale. Typically members represent the top 10 percent of students majoring in criminal justice major.

The mission of Alpha Phi Sigma is to promote analytical thinking, rigorous scholarship and life-long learning, to keep abreast of the advances in scientific research, to elevate the ethical standards of the criminal justice professions and to sustain in the public mind the benefit and necessity of education and professional training.

The criminal justice students inducted into the Alpha Phi Sigma honor society are listed below, alphabetically by hometown. The induction ceremony was April 15.

Gothenburg – Elizabeth Matthies

Hastings – McKenzie Sealey

Kearney – Amanda Lux

Wilcox – Nathan Arehart


-Amanda Arnold