Symphonic Band Concert set for Thursday, March 7

Dr. Brian Alber, assistant professor of music and performing arts, 308.865.8607, or

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Symphonic Band will be in concert at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, March 7, in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall.

Under the direction of Dr. Brian Alber, UNK assistant professor of music and performing arts, the band will perform eight pieces, including: “Rushmore” by Alfred Reed, “Amparito Roca” by Jaime Texidor, “On a Hymnsong of Phillip Bliss by David Holsinger, “Chant and Jublio” by W. Francis McBeth, “Ave Verum Corpus” by W.A. Mozart, “…and the antelope play” by John Carnahan and “Galop from Genevieve de Brabant” by Jaques Offenbach.

“I chose repertoire that had a strong current of Americanism,” Dr. Alber said. “Whether in terms of familiar patriotic tunes, military service songs, or simple hymns, the resonating theme is something holistically American. I think that everyone who attends the concert will find something familiar, and also something new.”

Guest conductor Dr. Gary Davis will direct “On the Mall” by Richard Franko Goldman. Dr. Davis retired from UNK in 2001 as a professor of music and the director of the Honors Program. He joined UNK faculty in 1990 as director of bands and professor of brass.

The concert is free and open to the public.

Members of the Symphonic Band are listed below, alphabetically, by hometown:

Auburn- Kelsey Krieger, alto saxophone
Bennington- Victoria Klaus, flute/piccolo
Burwell- Riley Sheets, alto saxophone
Columbus- Audrey Grant, trumpet
Grand Island- Andrea Hesterman, trumpet
Grand Island- Daniel Carlson, baritone saxophone
Grand Island- Logan Gregory, clarinet
Grand Island- Michael Cantrell, clarinet
Grand Island- Patience Buck, trombone
Grand Island- Toni Birch, tuba
Hastings- Taylor Hubbard, tenor saxophone
Hastings- Tyler Hinrichs, bass clarinet
Hastings- Zach Thomas, percussion
Hildreth- Amaryah Fritz, alto saxophone
Holdrege- Amanda Gray, percussion
Kearney- Aaron Woolley, French horn
Kearney- Ashley Jeffs, flute/piccolo
Kearney- Brock Persson, tuba
Kearney- Dan Gibbs, flute/piccolo
Kearney- Jacinda Uden, flute/piccolo, oboe
Kearney- Nathan Thorn, percussion
Kearney- Tyler Walker, flute/piccolo
Lexington- Carlos Herrarte, euphonium
Lexington- Nathan Richardson, percussion
Lincoln- David Morrison, trumpet
Morrill- Kate Lynne Duncan, flute/piccolo
Minden- Jon Hunzeker, trombone
Minden- Matthew Stubbs, trumpet
Minden- Vergil Nelson, trombone
Mitchell- Matt Powell, percussion
North Platte- Nellie Ambrose, trumpet
Ogallala- Alex Rudolph, tuba
Ogallala- Mark Messner, bassoon
Omaha- Emily Smith, flute/piccolo
Omaha- Haley Allen, tenor saxophone
Omaha- Jacob Fahrlander, euphonium
Omaha- Joey Casella, alto saxophone
Omaha- Megan Miller, alto saxophone
Omaha- Nate Skinner, percussion
Pierce- Laurie Venteicher, French horn
Sargent- Hyojung Kim, flute/piccolo
Shelby- Megan Veburg, trumpet
Shelton- Ruth Vakoc, clarinet
Sidney- Alex Jacobsen, percussion
Stanton- Lindsay Christiansen, bass clarinet
Utica- Christina Dean, clarinet
Wahoo- Hillary Fick, clarinet

Andalusia- Tony Garcia, tenor saxophone

Shawnee- Elizabeth Roy, tenor saxophone

Cypress- Chelsea Rasing, clarinet

Wheatland- Chelsea Sedam, flute/piccolo, French horn