Shaye Champ
President of Sigma Tau Delta, 308.240.0901, or

The University of Nebraska at Kearney chapter of Sigma Tau Delta has released “The Carillon,” a student publication featuring selected creative and critical pieces.

In all, 17 students have work featured in the current issue. To be selected for inclusion in the annual publication, students submitted their work to a committee headed by the editors—Shaye Champ of North Platte and Jacob Sandman of Curtis. Faculty advisers for “The Carillon” include Dr. Michelle Beissel Heath, assistant profession of English; Dr. Susan Honeyman, professor of English; and Dr. Megan Hartman, assistant professor of English. 

Four award-winning works from the Language and Literature Conference, hosted by the Department of English last semester, are among the published works. The winning works follow.

A collection of poems by Lacey McPhillips of Lindsay, “Voices of the Irish,” was selected as the Outstanding Work in Creative Writing. McPhillips also received the Outstanding Applied Research award for her critical piece, “More than Words: Using Wordless Picture Books in Elementary Classrooms.”

Kevanie Damit-Og of Hildreth received the “Outstanding Essay in Expository Writing” award for an essay, “Bech is not Bitch!: Cultural Comfort and Language.”

“The Underlying Balance of Imbalance: Structure in Willa Cather’s ‘The Professor’s House,’” a critical essay by Celeste Lempke of Wallace, won the award for Outstanding Work in Graduate Studies.

“The Carillon” also features student artwork, including the cover photo “Light Imprisoned” and “Moment in Time,” by Rachel Nozicka of Ravenna; “Misfortunes Within Oneself —Life in Dull Silver,” by Lempke; and “Coronation,” by McPhillips.

Students whose works are included in this issue of “The Carillon” are listed below, alphabetically by hometown.

Allison Dixon, short fiction
Columbus- Courtney Nelsen, short fiction
Caroline Neujahr, poetry
Grand Island-
Alex Emery, poetry
Grand Island-
Michael Coe, poetry
Kevanie Damit-Og, critical piece
Holdrege- Emily Myers, short fiction
Aaron Rothenberger, short fiction
Kearney- Amy Hadley, critical piece
Britt Cudaback, poetry
Kearney- Kevin Stones, short fiction and poetry
Daniel Arias, poetry
Lindsay- Lacey McPhillips, poetry, critical piece
Justin Zyla, short fiction and poetry
Ravenna- Rachel Nozicka, cover art, inside art, critical piece
Wallace- Celeste Lempke, short fiction, critical pieces, artwork

Aaron Dickey, critical essay

Sigma Tau Delta membership is open to all students, regardless of major, who have completed at least six credits of English beyond the freshman level. Sigma Tau Delta participates in community and campus activities that promote English learning, fellowship with student and faculty members at monthly meetings,  and fund-raising activities.