Dr. Seth Fletcher
Department of Music and Performing Arts lecturer, 308.865.8632

Ten instrumentalists will be featured in the spring low brass studio recital on Thursday, April 5, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

The recital, which is free and open to the public, will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall. The instrumentalists are all students of Dr. Seth Fletcher, UNK senior lecturer of music and performing arts.

“The students and I select their solos together based upon the difficulty level of the music, specific skills or musical styles they need to address, past repertoire that they’ve performed, certain standard works that they’re expected to know and several other factors,” Dr. Fletcher said.

The student performers are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Michael Crawford of Broken Bow, tuba, and Dr. Marilyn Musick, UNK instructor of music and performing arts, piano, will perform “Sonata in A Minor” by Antonio Vivaldi.

Tommy Augustin of Crofton, tuba, and Natalie Hall of Stanton, piano, will perform “Siciliano and Chorale” by J.S. Bach.

Patience Buck of Grand Island, trombone, and Dr. Musick, piano, will perform “Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14” by Sergei Rachmaninov.

Zach Margheim of Kearney, trombone, and Dr. Musick, piano, will perform “Bercuese, Op. 7” by Oskar Böhme.

Brock Persson of Kearney, tuba, and Dr. Musick, piano will perform “Barbarossa” by C.L. Barnhouse.

Jon Hunzeker of Minden, trombone, and Dr. Musick, piano, will perform “The Harmonius Blacksmith” by Georg Frideric Handel and “Daybreak” by Nicola Ferro.

Vergil Nelson of Minden, trombone, and Nancy Curry, UNK staff member, piano, will perform “Tango para Trombone (Oblivion Tango)” by Astor Piazzolla and “Sunset” by Nicola Ferro

Paula Newhouse of Omaha, tuba, and Dr. Musick, piano, will perform “Introduction and Allegro Spiritoso” by Jean?Baptiste Senaillé.

Mark Messner of Ogallala, tuba, and Curry, piano will perform “Suite for Tuba” by Don Haddad.

Lee Rushing of Marion, Ariz., tuba, will perform “Fnugg” by Øystein Baadsvik.