Jennifer Harvey
curriculum librarian and assistant professor, 308.865.8276, or

Children’s book illustrator and author Preston McDaniels will read at the Calvin T. Ryan Library at the University of Nebraska at Kearney Thursday, March 8, at 7 p.m.

A Kearney native who now lives in Aurora, McDaniels will read from his book, “A Perfect Snowman,” lead a discussion and have a book-signing on the main floor of the Calvin T. Ryan Library. “A Perfect Snowman” is McDaniels’ first self-penned and illustrated title. It appeared on the L.A. Best-seller list in 2007.
McDaniels has illustrated several books for young readers. His work includes illustrating books by Cynthia Rylant, a Newbery Award Winning author. “Lighthouse Family,” written by Rylant and illustrated by McDaniels, was named a “Best of the Year” selection by the International Association of Independent booksellers.

He has also illustrated Francis O’Roark Dowell’s critically acclaimed series of “Phineas L. MacGuire” novels.

“Preston’s work is just gorgeous, and he’s an incredibly talented artist who has been remarkably successful,” said Jennifer Harvey, UNK curriculum librarian and assistant professor. “He’ll be sharing his enthusiasm for books and art with the children of the development center and an elementary school.”

Several events will occur throughout the day beginning with a 10:30 a.m. reading to children in the UNK Child Development Center. The reading will take place in the lower level of the UNK Calvin T. Ryan Library. A reading and discussion for Central Elementary School children will take place at the Museum of Nebraska Art (MONA) at 1:30 p.m.

At 3:30 p.m., McDaniels will meet with UNK students and faculty in Copeland Hall, Room 142, to discuss his creative process and his path to publication.

As a child, McDaniels attended Park Elementary School in Kearney and based many of the illustrations in “Phineas L. MacGuire” on his own experiences.

The events are sponsored by the UNK Calvin T. Ryan Library with grant support from the UNK Faculty Senate Artists and Lecturers Committee.