Dr. Jim Payne
Jazz Rock Ensemble director, 308.865.8606

Big band sounds from the swing era to the present will be performed by members of the University of Nebraska at Kearney Jazz-Rock Ensemble in a 7:30 p.m. concert Saturday, Dec. 3, in the Fine Arts Recital Hall.

The ensemble will present a concert of big band sounds, as well as jazz pieces styled in several types of swing, Latin, rock, jazz rock fusion, contemporary jazz, ballad and funk. The music will come from the libraries of the Glenn Miller, Count Basie, Airmen of
Note, Pat Metheny, University of Northern Colorado Jazz Lab Band, the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra, Dave Weckl, Les Hooper, and Bob Berg. There will be solos on piano, guitar, trumpet, trombone, drums, and alto, tenor, and bari saxophone,

Troy Ehmke, a senior music education major from Beatrice, will perform a solo on the alto saxophone. The piece was written by David Caffey for the University of Northern Colorado Jazz Lab. Ehmke has played with the UNK Jazz-Rock Ensemble for the past four years, as well as with numerous jazz groups in Nebraska, including Platte River Jazz.

“Troy has been a great addition to the Jazz Rock Ensemble during his undergraduate years at UNK,” said Dr. Jim Payne, UNK professor of music and Jazz-Rock Ensemble director. “In addition, he has excelled in his solo performances and as a band member in the UNK Wind Ensemble.”

Membership in the UNK Jazz-Rock Ensemble is by competitive audition. Members of the UNK Jazz Rock Ensemble are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Grand Island – 
Andrea Hesterman, trumpet; Ryne Miller, baritone saxophoneEric Rempe, trombone 
Gretna – 
Aaron Ray, piano 
Kearney – 
Tyler Allen, trombone; Dan Butler, guitar; Jason Payne, drums; Yauheni Prystupa, piano; Kory Reeder, bass 
Lexington – 
Joel Montes, drums 
McCook – 
Casey Cobb, tenor saxophone 
Minden – 
Will Gleason, trumpet; Jonathan Hunzeker, trombone; Katie Lewis, alto saxophone; Spencer Mills, trumpet; Vergil Nelson, trombone; Matthew Stubbs, trumpet 
Mitchell – 
Matt Powell, drums 
Ralston – 
Joey Casella, tenor sax 
Ravenna – 
Mike Bohn, bass


 – Kelly Skunes, trumpet

Southfield – 
Anthony Ford, tenor saxophone


 – Masahoshi Shikazawa, guitar