Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Initiates 30 at UNK

Dr. Ron Wirtz
UNK Phi Kappa Phi president, 308.865.8592

UNK– The Phi Kappa Phi honor society at the University of Nebraska has initiated 30 students into membership.

Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students, and the top 7½  percent of juniors. All members must be nominated and approved for chapter membership. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction may also qualify.

Phi Kappa Phi has more than one million members, including former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, NASA Astronaut Wendy Lawrence, writer John Grisham, opera singer Renee Fleming, journalist and broadcaster Deborah Norville and Netscape founder James Barksdale.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and largest all-discipline honor society. The society has chapters on nearly 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

Newly initiated Phi Kappa Phi honor society members at UNK are listed below alphabetically by hometown:

Atkinson- Laura Slaymaker
Elwood- Britney Zeller
Eustis- Brennon Malcom
Falls City- Hayley Milam
Grand Island- Michelle Bergholz and Angela Boersen.
Gurley- Bridget Dishman
Hastings- Cheri Theesen
Kearney- Ann Carlson, Casey Glatter, Megan Haack, Abigail Harris, Riley Howsden, Audra Kennedy, Jared Loschen, David Paprocki,         Ross Pierce, Jamie Powers, Drew Prososki, Brett Schaepler, Brittany Schmidt and Ayumi Yamanashi.
Lincoln- Megan Gengenbach
Mason City- Amy Rosentreader
North Platte- Nathan Hoffman
Plainview- J. Benjamin Klein
Raymond- Mark Grimes
Wayne- Regan Ruhl
Yutan- Hannah Snyder